How does Family Tree protect the privacy of living people?

Family Tree puts records of living people in your private space and restricts who can see the private space.

Although Family Tree records for living people are private, the memories attached to them are potentially viewable by anyone. If you upload memories about living people, you can make them private.

What are private spaces?

A private space is a location in Family Tree that only you have access to. Your private space manages information about the living people in your family. Our goal is to maintain privacy and protect sensitive information.

Who has a private space?

Each user of Family Tree has a private space. All records of living people added within a private space remain attached to the contributor's account, even upon the account holder's death.

Who can see the records in my private space?

Other users cannot see the records in your private space. The people in your private space do not come up in search results when other users use the Family Tree find feature.

With your permission, someone else can sign in to Family Tree as your helper. A helper can see your private space and the rest of your family lines.

How do I know if a person is in my private space?

A record in your private space contains a yellow banner across the top of the Person page. In multiple places, the word "Living" appears instead of a death date or the word "Deceased."

How do I put records into my private space?

The records get added to your private space in several ways:

  • You add a person to Family Tree and select the Living option.
  • You transfer a record of a living person from a database that you manage in a third-party program.

Members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints can sometimes see living people from their Church membership record.

How do records in my private space become public?

In most cases, the person's record becomes public after you add a death date to it. The Family Tree does not compute the likelihood that a person in a private space is alive. The system does not change the status to deceased based on birth year.

Are private memories the same thing as private spaces?


Private Memories are not associated with private spaces. Attaching a memory to a person in a private space does not make a memory private. If you add death information to a person in Family Tree, the tree record becomes public. All private memories attached to that person remain private.

Can multiple contributors enter the same living person into their living space?

Multiple users can enter a record for the same living person into their private space. Each record has a different ID number.

Changing a record in your private space does not change the same person's record in another user's private space.

Related articles

How do I make a memory private?
How do I change a status from living to deceased in Family Tree?
How do I see my contributions to Family Tree?
How do I merge duplicates in my private space in Family Tree?
Can I add memories about my living relatives to Family Tree?
Can I transfer my private space to another user?
Can my living relatives share a Family Tree private space to work together?

Was this helpful?