Attention: This site does not support the current version of your web browser. To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version or install another browser

We noticed that you are using Internet Explorer 11. We would like to encourage you to upgrade to a more current browser. Internet Explorer 11 is no longer being updated by Microsoft, and it lacks many important features. Please go here for more information.

Canada Census, 1901


In 1901 Canada consisted of the provinces of British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and the North-West Territories (which included the districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabasca, Franklin, MacKenzie, Saskatchewan, and Ungava). Census day was 31 March 1901 and the census forms were printed in English and French.

Learn more »

View Images in this Collection

Browse through 141438 images

Citing this Collection

"Canada Census, 1901." Database with images. FamilySearch. : 28 April 2017. Library and Archives of Canada, Ottawa.


Select a language