How do I turn on or off the option to view my relationship to other users?

When you contact another user, you have the option to see how you are related. To do this, both you and the other user must turn on an option in your settings.

The relationship information is available when another user clicks your contact name in Family Tree or Memories. An option to view the relationship is displayed, along with the contact details.

Steps (website)

  1. Sign in to FamilySearch.
  2. In the upper right corner, click your name.
  3. Click Settings
  4. Click Contact.
  5. Below the Enable Relationship Viewing option, read the message to see what information is available to other users.
  6. Click the Public checkbox that is next to Enable Relationship Viewing.
  7. Click Save Changes

Steps (mobile app)

You can turn the option on when you view another user's contact information. You can also turn it on or off in your settings. Here's how:
 

  1. While signed in to the Family Tree mobile app:
    • Apple iOS: In the bottom right corner, tap the 3 dots.
    • Android: In the top left corner, tap the 3 lines.
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Below the Enable Relationship Viewing option, read the message to see what information is available to other users.
  4. To turn the option on, tap Enable Relationship Viewing.

Steps (Family Tree Lite)

Family Tree Lite currently does not have the option to view your relationship to other users. Please use the Family Tree mobile app instead.

Related articles

How do I contact or message a user who contributed to Family Tree or Memories?
How do I change my contact information?

Share

Was this helpful?