Zacapa Department, Guatemala Genealogy
|Guatemala Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Department of Zacapa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- Zacapa separated from the Department of Chiquimula in 1871.
- The Civil War of Guatemala began on November 13, 1960, which lasted 10 years in the first stage.
- The Department of Zacapa has a population of approximately 208,000 people. 
Municipalities[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration and Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most of the research you will do will be in these two records.
- 1877-2008 - Guatemala Civil Registration, 1877-2008 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1877-1994 - Guatemala, Zacapa, Civil Registration, 1877-1994
- 1877-1994 - Guatemala, Zacapa, Civil Registration, 1877-1994. Additional towns.
- 1581-1977 - Zacapa, Guatemala, Catholic Church Records, 1581-1977
Additional online records may be listed in the Family History Library Catalog for places within Guatemala, Zacapa.
Reading the Records[edit | edit source]
- You do not have to be fluent in Spanish to read your documents. Genealogical records usually contain a limited vocabulary. Use this Spanish Genealogical Word List to translate the important points in the document. Handwriting skills are taught in BYU Spanish Script Tutorial.
- Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:
- Detailed instructions for reading Spanish records, examples of common documents, and practice exercises for developing skills in translating them can be found in the Spanish Records Extraction Manual.
- The Spanish Documents Script Tutorial also provides lessons and examples.
Building a Family Record with a Search Strategy[edit | edit source]
Many articles on strategy are available on the Wiki, but here is a simple set of steps to guide you
- Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth/baptism/christening record, then search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
- Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents, and even the names of their parents.
- You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
- Search the death registers for all known family members.
- Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
- If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Zacapa," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zacapa. Visited 1 September 2017.