Woodhouse, Leicestershire Genealogy
St Mary-in-the-Elms Woodhouse, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Barrow upon Soar|
|Registration District||Barrow upon Soar|
|Parish registers: 1623|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1625|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
WOODHOUSE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote,N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (S. W.)from Loughborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Woodhouse St Mary-in-the-Elms was formed as a chapelry of Barrow upon Soar, Leicestershire Ancient Parish and as an Ecclesisatical parish in 1784, located between the larger Woodhouse Eaves Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire and Quorn, Leicestershire villages.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Woodhouse like this:
WOODHOUSE, a township and a chapelry in Barrow-upon-Soar parish Leicester. The township lies 3¾ miles S of Loughborough r. stat ion, and contains a village of its own name.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Woodhouse parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = England, Leicestershire Parish Registers, 1533-1991 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FMP = Leicestershire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Banns = Leicestershire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Marr = Leicestershire Marriage Licences, 1604-1891 (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|MyH = Leicestershire Parish Births, Marriages, Burials (MyHeritage) - ($)|
|TGEN = Hampshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)|
|PC = Parish Chest - ($) Registers delivered by email.|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Woodhouse Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.
Diocese of Leicester: Woodhouse Bap 1623 - 2006 Marr 1623 - 2007 Bur 1623 - 1971
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-657. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.