Open main menu

Brian Rhoads


I was born in Henderson NV, just outside Las Vegas. After graduating from High School my family moved to North Idaho. This was culture shock, desert to mountains and beautiful CDA Lake. I served a two year mission to the Great Kentucky Louisville Mission. Loved every second of it!

We have been married now for nearly 32 years. We have 8 children, 2 boys and 6 girls. We have 6 grandchildren with 1 on the way.

After being married in the Seattle temple I join the Air Force for 4 yrs stationed in Hawaii, darn the bad luck. I served in the communication and cryptology field and learned not to be afraid of computers.

After this I Worked 23 years in Juvenile Corrections for the state of Nevada;
Training in human science and all things relating to youth.
8 yrs on Gang Unit; last 7 years as the Training Officer; also trainer/liaison for state of NV treatment modalities for youth in all facilities.

Loved my job but we needed to move to Olympia, WA to help care for my wife's parents so I retired from Nevada and moved my family to Olympia where we reside now.

I experienced some severe health issues due to diabetes and had a below knee amputation of my left leg. In a lot of ways this has been a blessing in disguise, if we still lived in the rural Nevada town we came from the infection may have overtaken me. The Lord still had work for me to do and my outlook changed. Elder Smith, who is in my ward, recruited me to this mission and it has been a great help emotionally to me and my family. God leads us in strange paths sometimes we otherwise would not take.

I do not have experience in genealogy or coding so was a little nervous starting a wiki mission but with the awesome training and help from such good and motivated instructors I'm on my way and I love it!

I am now learning to be an instructor for new missionaries and am looking forward to great experiences!