Travis County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Travis County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Travis County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||January 25, 1840|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Church
- 4.4 Census
- 4.5 City Directories
- 4.6 Court
- 4.7 Land
- 4.8 Local Histories
- 4.9 Maps
- 4.10 Military
- 4.11 Newspapers
- 4.12 Obituaries
- 4.13 Probate
- 4.14 Taxation
- 4.15 Vital Records
- 4.16 Events
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Travis County, Texas Record Dates
Travis County Courthouse
100 Guadalupe Street #222
PO Box 1748
Austin, Texas 78767
County Clerk has birth and death records
from 1903, marriage, probate, court and
land records from 1840
P.O. Box 149325
P.O. Box 679003
1840--Travis County was created 25 January 1840 from Bastrop County.
- County seat: Austin 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone||Interment|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Travis County Cemetery Project ~ Austin Genealogical Society
- Historic Texas Cemeteries
- Texas Cemeteries ~ Hidden Ancestors (links to transcriptions and information on most major Texas cemeteries)
- 1859-1866 Baptisms and Burials for St. David’s Episcopal Church, Austin, Texas: Parish Register 1859-1866 - Austin Genealogical Society
- 1875-1893 Baptisms of the First Southern Presbyterian Church, Austin, Texas - Austin Genealogical Society
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Austin Texas Oak Hills Stake
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Garfield, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
1850 Texas Census Records - Austin Genealogical Society
1860 Travis County Mortality Schedule - Austin Genealogical Society
1870 Travis County Mortality Schedule - Austin Genealogical Society
1873 Voter Registration List - Austin Genealogical Society
1875 Austin Census - Austin Genealogical Society
1892 Voter Registration List - Austin Genealogical Society
Austin City Directories, digital books online from The Portal to Texas History:
- 1906-1999 Texas Naturalization Records ~ FamilySearch record collection
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - Travis County ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Local histories are available for Travis County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Austin, Texas Maps from the Perry-Castenada Library Map collection.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1895 US Atlas ~ TXGenWeb Travis County
- 1897 Travis County, Texas Map with numerous small settlements. (My Genealogy Hound)
- 1914 Counties Map ~ Rootsweb
- 1845 - 1848 - US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Travis County Civil War Pension Applications ~ Travis County TXGenWeb
World War I
World War II
- WWII Casualties (Army and Air Force) ~ USGenWeb Travis County
- Korean War Casualties ~ Travis County TXGenWeb
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Travis County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Travis County Obituaries ~ Austin Genealogical Society
- Travis County Obituaries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project (limited list)
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls ~ FamilySearch records collection
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840-1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- 1903-1997 Texas, Birth Index, 1903-1997 ~ FamilySearch records collection
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1890-1976 Footnote.com ($) has Texas Death Certificates 1890-1976 available online.
- 1890-1976 Texas, Deaths, 1890-1976 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- 1903-1973 Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903-2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Travis County Mortuary Records ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 FamilySearch records collection
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Roots, Boots, & Brisket - Annual family history conference co-sponsered by the Austin Texas Oak Hills Stake
Societies and Libraries
Texian Heritage Society
15742 Fitzhugh Rd.
German-Texan Heritage Society
507 E. 10th St.
PO Box 684171
Austin, TX 78768-4171
Catholic Archives of Texas
PO Box 13327
1600 Congress Ave.
Austin, TX 78811-3327
Barker Texas History Center
UT-Austin SRH 2, 101
Austin, TX 78713-7330
Austin Genealogical Society
PO Box 1507
Austin, TX 78767-1507
Manor Volunteer Library
601 West Carrie Manor St
Telephone Number: 512-278-0882
There is a small Heritage and History Collection at the Manor Volunteer Library.
- Austin Genealogy Society
- Texas State Library and Archives
- Dolph Briscoe Center for American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- Travis County USGenWeb ~ county record transcriptions and general information
- USGenWeb Archives Collection ~ Travis County records
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Travis County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).