Tenbury St Michael and All Angels, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Tenbury St Michael and All Angels, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TENBURY (St. Mary the Virgin), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Upper division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Tenbury and W. divisions of the county of Worcester; with the hamlets of Berrington, Sutton, and Tenbury-Foreign with Kyrewood, 22 miles (N. W. by W.) from Worcester, and 134 (N. W. by W.) from London. This place, originally called Temebury, derives its name from the Teme, which is here a considerable river, separating Worcestershire from Salop. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
The College of St. Michael and All Angels, in Tenbury Wells Worcestershire, England, was a boys school founded by Frederick Ouseley in 1856 to provide a model for the performance of Anglican church music. The college possessed a library that contained rare books of international importance. Financial difficulties forced its closure in 1985.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Tenbury St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Tenbury St Michael and All Angels Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the The Hive (where the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service is located).
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 17 October 2013.
- Wikipedia Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Date accessed and adapted: 17 October 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Worcestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.