Solum Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Solum, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Solum Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
add here |
| Prosti | add here |
| Len 1599-1660 | Bratsberg |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1660-1919: Bratsberg |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Telemark |
| Region | add here |
| Prestegjeld | Solum |
| Kommune | add here |
| Skifteretten | add here |
| Tinglag | Solum |
| Fogderi | Nedre Telemarken |
| Sorenskriveri | Gjerpen |
| Skipreide | add here |
Contents
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Solum clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Solum, Mælum and Kilebygda. They were separated from Skien clerical district in 1738 and annexed to Gjerpen clerical distict until 1856. Included Vestre Porsgrunn until 1763. See Skien for earlier records.
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1701-1927.
- Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 12: Øvre Telemark deanery, Nedre Telemark deanery and Bamble deanery. This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Solum clerical district, including Solum parish and Mælum parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, and online at Digital Archives
- Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 6: Øvre and Nedre Telemark fogderi and Bamble fogderi. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Solum clerical district and included Solum parish and Mælum parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, and online at Digital Archives
- 1729: A special 1729 census exists for Porsgrunn clerical district. The east side of Porsgrunn used to belong to Eidanger, and the west side of Porsgrunn to Solum until 1763 when Porsgrunn became its own clerical district. Includes the head of household or his widow, children, servants, soldiers, retired persons, age, sex, occupation and some miscellaneous information. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- 1782: A special 1782 census exists forSolum clerical district and included Solum parish and Mælum parish. It used to be available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives), but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it, a link will be provided here.
- 1801: The 1801 census for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda, and Mælum parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1835: A special 1835 census for Gjerpen clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Gjerpen and Solum, exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- 1845: A special The 1845 census for Gjerpen clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Gjerpen and Solum, exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- 1865: The 1865 census for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda, and Mælum parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1875: The 1875 census for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda, and Mælum parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1891: The 1891 census for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda, and Mælum parishes. It is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1900: The 1900 census for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda, and Mælum parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census for Solum clerical district is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
12 Aafoss 13 Aafosskaasa 26 Aannerød 13 Aasland 13 Amordokken
16 Bakkene 21 Bjørnstad 21 Bjørntvet 21 Bugtekaasa 21 Bugten
12 Dagsrud 6 Dalen
13 Elset 9 Eltvet vestre
21 Fantenberg og Eikelund 1 Findal lille 15 Fjære
13 Gaasodden 17 Gimsø Kloster 10 Grimholt 33 Grøtviken 24 Gudmundsplads
18 Hakestensfaret 23 Haraldskaas 12 Haukenes 20 Hegna 4 Holtan 33 Hovland 23 Hulka 5 Hvalen 23 Høstekaasa
21 Jytekaasa
14 Kaasene 21 Kapeljordet og Kirkejordet 20 Kjerringteigen 12 Kjeøen 20 Kjørbæk 14 Klovholt 14 Klovland 7 Klyve vestre 23 Klyve østre 23 Klyvekaasa 24 Knardal 24 Knardalskaas 23 Kvernekaasa,
21 Lahelle 26 Lakaasene 21 Larydningen 21 Lergranstrand 6 Lien 9 Løktaaskaasa
13 Masteflet 30 Meltvet 22 Moldhaugen 21 Moldhaugkaasa 21 Mon
21 Nenset 10 Nyhus
11 Pladsen 3 Præstegaarden
33 Rambæk 11 Rokstad 23 Rugla 25 Rugtvet 21 Rydningen 23 Rydningen 21 Rødmyr 27 Røraa
11 Skjelbrei nordre 20 Slaattehagen 21 Smedkaasa 23 Sorgenfri 26 Sponsletten 16 Steinsrød 13 Sutterviken 23 Svass 31 Søtvet nordre
21 Tolnes 23 Tormo 21 Tromdalskaas 26 Trættekaasa 23 Tuftekaas 13 Tute
29 Veholt, Vetlekaas og Sparekaasa21 Villumskaas 19 Vindalen 21 Vrigtekaasa
28 Ørvik 13 Østgaarden
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet
Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet
