Silk Willoughby, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Silk Willoughby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Silk Willoughby, Lincolnshire|
Silk Willoughby St Denis Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Sleaford|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Rural Deanery||Aswardhurn with Lafford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WILLOUGHBY-SILK, a parish in Sleaford district, Lincoln: 1¾ mile SSW of Sleaford r. station. Post town, Sleaford.
Silk Willoughby St Denis is an Ancient Parish which includes Silkby.
The Norman Church restored in subsequent centuries notably in 1878 and 1907-1908 is dedicated to St Denys in older records but the more modern spelling may have been adopted due to proximity to the New Sleaford, Lincolnshire St Denys. Saint Denys or Saint Denis are alternative spellings for the same person. The small village is two miles south of Sleaford.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
The parish was within the Sleaford sub-district of Sleaford registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Silk Willoughby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Silk Willoughby Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazateer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.