To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sigtuna Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Sigtuna Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Sankt Olofs Church Täby

History[edit | edit source]

Sigtuna was founded on what was then the shore of Lake Mälaren just over 1,000 years ago. It took its name from an ancient royal estate several kilometers to the west. It operated as a royal and commercial centre for some 250 years, and was one of the most important cities of Sweden.
St. Mary's Church, built in the 13th century by the Dominican order as a monastery church, still remains largely intact. The Dominican monastery played an important role in the Swedish Middle Ages and produced many important Church officials.
[1]

Sigtuna Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län 1634-1639 Uppsala, 1640-1647 Stockholm, 1648-1651 Uppsala, 1652-1653 Stockholm, 1654-1714 Uppsala, 1715- Stockholm
Landskap Uppland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here
NAD Ref Code add here
National Archive SVAR here?property=P5324 link
Swedish Wikipedia here?lang=sv link
SCB Congregation map here?property=P778 link
Open Street map here?property=P625 link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Ahludden,

Fattigstugan, Fredriksberg,

Pettersberg,

Ropsten, Ragvaldsbo,

Snörin, Skålgrund, Sjudargård Stora, Sjudargård Lilla,

Wederqvarn Stora, Wederqvarn Lilla.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Stockholm Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Stockholm and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Sigtuna parish, Husförhörslängd, 1835-1839, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Sigtuna" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Skatteverket. "Sigtuna." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). April 2010 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna