Shaftesbury Holy Trinity, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Shaftesbury Holy Trinity, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Shaftesbury Holy Trinity, Dorset|
|Hundred||Shaftesbury or Shaston Borough|
|Poor Law Union||Shaftesbury|
|Parish registers: 1695|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1731|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset|
|Location of Archive|
|Dorset Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SHAFTESBURY, or Shaston, a borough and market-town, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Moncton- up -Wimborne, county of Dorset, 28 miles (N. N. E.) from Dorchester, and 101 (W. S. W.) from London, on the great road from London to Exeter. The town comprises the parishes of St. Peter, Holy Trinity and St. James, including the liberty of Alcester. The parliamentary limits extend into Wilts. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Shaftesbury Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Shaftesbury Holy Trinity Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
- Searching Parish Records online (Dorset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.