Saint John Parish, Barbados

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Barbados Wiki Topics
Flag of Barbados.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Barbados Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Barbados
Saint John Parish

Guide to Saint John Parish family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Parish of Saint John
Barbados ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Early History

The earliest parish registers for St. John, Barbados seem to be missing because the first baptism record found are those of hundred and fifty years later in 1805.

The first marriages in this parish, however, are in 1657 with surnames such as Barber, Bayley, Davidson, Fenwick, Foster, Gunn, Hill, Keetes, Knight, Nelson, Oakley, Parker, Partridge, Prescott, Prince, Taylor, Welsh, and Wood. These were quickly followed by other well known names from that period, that continue to this day, with the likes of Allester, Andrews, Annes, Atkinson, Baldwyn, Baxter, Brannan, Bridge, Brown, Bryan, Bryan, Burne, Carnes, Cash, Clarke, Collison, Corner, Cullimore, Davis, Debats, Dempster, Dennis, Denough, Ellis, Evans, Farre, Frame, Garrett, Gibson, Gold, Green, Hackett, Halfhead, Harris, Haynes, Hennard, Henny, Hoblins, Hothersall, Ince, Johnson, King, Lee, Lewis, Lord, Mabley, Masson, Mole, Moore, Munro, Nichols, Parkinton, Philips, Porter, Potter, Price, Reed, Renny, Rides, Roberts, Robinson, Sachell, Savington, Sharpe, Sherwood, Sherwood, Sislee, Snooke, Stewart, Walker, Wallis, Warmill, Webster, and Woodward.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Saint John, Barbados

References