To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Papua New Guinea Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Papua New Guinea Wiki Topics
Flag of Papua New Guinea.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Papua New Guinea Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Papua New Guinea ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Papua New Guinea is an island country in the Pacific Ocean bordered by Indonesia. The official languages are Hiri Motu, Tok Pisin, Papua New Guinean, Sign Language, and English.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Papua New Guinea Research

Links to articles on getting started with Papua New Guinea research.

Papua New Guinea Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Papua New Guinea research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Papua New Guinea Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Papua New Guinea.

Papua new guinea provinces (numbers) 2012.png

Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Papua New Guinea. Provinces:

  • Central
  • Chimbu
  • Eastern Highlands
  • East New Britain
  • East Sepik
  • Enga
  • Gulf
  • Madang
  • Manus
  • Milne Bay
  • Morobe
  • New Ireland
  • Northern
  • Bougainville
  • Southern Highlands
  • Western
  • Western Highlands
  • West New Britain
  • West Sepik (Sandaun)
  • National Capital
  • Hela
  • Jiwaka

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Papua New Guinea," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Papua_New_Guinea, accessed 25 April 2016.