Guide to Panama ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records
|Panama Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Panama is a country in Central America bordered by Costa Rica and Colombia. Panama is an isthmus that connects North and South America and is also considered a Caribbean nation. Vasco Nunez de Balboa discovered the Pacific ocean off the coast of Panama in 1513. Its strategic geographical location has made it a center of commerce and transportation since Spanish colonial times. After its independence from Spain in 1821, Panama became a department of Colombia until 1903 when the United States began building the Panama Canal and created the Panama Canal Zone, a major navigation hub. The official language is Spanish.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Panama Research
Links to articles on getting started with Panama research.
Panama Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Panama research.
Panama Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Provinces[edit | edit source]
Panama is divided into ten provinces and five indigenous regions.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Research Tutorials[edit | edit source]
- Search page
- Introduction to Hispanic Research
- U.S. Hispanic Immigration
- U.S. Hispanic Immigrants: Finding their Place of Origin
- Improve your Search Results in FamilySearch Hispanic Records
- Reading Spanish Handwritten Records:
- Lesson 1: The Spanish Alphabet
- Lesson 2: Words and Dates
- Lesson 3: Reading Spanish Records
- Hispanic Online Resources
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Panama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panama, accessed 28 March 2016.