To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Manthorpe with Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Manthorpe with Londonthorpe

Guide to Manthorpe with Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manthorpe with Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire
St+John Manthorpe Lincolnshire.JPG
St+John Manthorpe Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grantham Borough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Bourne Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: Not known; Separate registers exist for Londonthorpe beginning 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: None; Separate records exist for Londonthorpe beginning 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MANTHORPE, a hamlet, in the parish of Withamon-the-Hill, union of Bourne, wapentake of Beltisloe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 3¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from the town of Bourne.[1]

Manthorpe is a suburb to the north of Grantham and was in history a village known as Little Gonerby- cum-Manthorpe. The Brownlow family, local landowners, built a road in 1810 joining Grantham to Belton. The parish church of St John the Evangelist was built and  formed into an Ecclesiasatical Parish of Grantham, Lincolnshire Ancient Parish in 1849.

The parish includes Towthorpe and is extensive to the north and west of Grantham and neighbours Great Gonerby, Lincolnshire and Belton (near Grantham), Lincolnshire

There are a number of parishes within Lincolnshire with the same village or hamlet name, Belton is one of these.

Note: See Londonthorpe Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Manthorpe with Londonthorpe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Manthorpe with Londonthorpe Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Manthorpe/


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 247-251. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk