Madison County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Madison County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Madison County
 

Guide to Madison County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Huntsville
Organized: September 30, 1836
Parent County(s): Washington[1]
Neighboring Counties
Benton  • Carroll  • Crawford  • Franklin  • Johnson  • Newton  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasMadisonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-madison.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Madison County Courthouse
1 Main Street; PO Box 37;
Huntsville, AR 72740-0037
Phone: 501.738.6721
Madison County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1901[2]

Madison County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1896 1914* 1866 1843 1901
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1902 A fire destroyed deed record A, and all Will records except those recorded on court records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Madison County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Madison County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1700s - By the time of European exploration, Madison County was part of the Osage hunting grounds, although they lived further north.
  • 1827 - The earliest white settlers arrived and began to establish farms and towns. Settlers who migrated to the area from Huntsville in Madison County, Alabama, named both Huntsville and Madison County. However, the great majority of settlers came from Tennessee, traveling by flatboat and wagon.
  • 1836 September 30 - The state legislature established Madison County.
  • 1861-1865 - the area was hit hard by the bushwhackers who rode throughout the countryside, stealing and pillaging. They burned homes, stole food and possessions, and left most families with little to live on.
  • 1800s (late) - With the coming of the railroads, the timber industry flourished in Madison County.
  • 1930s - Madison County was particularly hard hit by the Depression.
  • 1900-2010 - The population of Madison County hit its high mark in 1900 with over 19800 residents. It had a steady decline and bottoming out at just over 9,000 in 1960. It now (2010) has about 15,700.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Madison, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Biographies from The History of Madison County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1860-1969 Madison County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Chancery Court record index 1866-1890; Chancery Court records 1866-1890; Guardian bonds and letters 1860-1934; Letters of testamentary 1881-1969; Probate records 1867-1893; Wills 1905-1939.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • History of Benton, Washington, Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Sebastian Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • 1889 History of Madison County, Arkansas With Biographical Appendix. from "History of Arkansas,". Huntsville, AR, USA: Century Enterprises, n.d. Reprint. Originally published by Goodspeed, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Madison CountyBoone CountyNewton CountyCarroll CountyBenton CountyWashington CountyPope CountyCrawford CountyJohnson CountySebastian CountyLogan CountyFranklin CountySequoyah CountyAdair CountyCherokee CountyOttawa CountyDelaware CountyCraig CountyMayes CountyMcDonald CountyNewton CountyBarry CountyStone CountyTaney CountyChristian CountyARMadison1.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Madison County on page 191.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Madison County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company K
- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 17th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Griffith's) (Confederate), Company G
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Rebecca Haden and Joy Russell, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=788&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Madison County.”
  6. Arkansas, Adjutant General's Office, Online Records
    • Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866, (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, c1990) FHL fiche 6082312
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.