Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Lyon County

Guide to Lyon County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Lyon County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Lyon County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 14, 1854
County Seat Eddyville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Lyon Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Land
Probate
1853
1854
1853
1860
1854
1847
*Many years between 1853 and 1911 are missing
Lyon County Courthouse, Eddyville, KY


Lyon County Courthouse
200 W Dale Avenue
PO Box 698
Eddyville, KY 42038
Phone: 270.388.2331[1]

History

Parent County

1854--Lyon County was created 14 January 1854 from Caldwell County.
County seat: Eddyville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Carmack Eddyville Kuttawa Saratoga
Confederate Eden Bay Lamasco Suwanee
Cross Road Fairview Palisades Twin Lakes
Eddy Bay Indian Hills

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kylyon.png

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lyon, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Lyon county cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18605,307
18706,23317.4%
18806,7688.6%
18907,62812.7%
19009,31922.2%
19109,4231.1%
19208,795−6.7%
19308,530−3.0%
19409,0676.3%
19506,853−24.4%
19605,924−13.6%
19705,562−6.1%
19806,49016.7%
19906,6242.1%
20008,08022.0%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21143.txt

For tips on accessing Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL 751704

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Lyon Co., Ky. Historical Signs

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records

World War I
Korean War

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Lyon County Historical Society
P.O. Box 811
Eddyville, Kentucky, 42038
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lyon County, Kentucky page 272, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.