Llangynllo, Ceredigion, Wales Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Llangynllo, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
History[edit | edit source]
LLANGUNLLO (LLAN-GYNLLO), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR , county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 3½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Cynllo, is pleasantly situated on the turnpike road from Cardigan through Troedyr-awr to Lampeter, and nearly the whole of it is enclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The soil, though varying with the surface, which is finely undulated, and in some parts rises into bold eminences, is in general fertile. The surrounding country is pleasingly varied, and the scenery in many parts is highly picturesque. The upper grounds command some extensive and interesting prospects, and from the eminence on which the church is built is obtained a fine view over the beautiful vale above which stands the mansion of Bronwydd. There is a place of worship for Independents, with a Sunday school.
For more information see Llangynlloat Genuki
Records[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Llangynllo at Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 47-55. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.