To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Llandygai, Gwynedd Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


History[edit | edit source]

LLANDEGAI (LLAN-DEGAI), a parish in the hundred of Llachwedd-Uchav, county of Carnarvon, 1 mile (E.) from Bangor, on the Holyhead road, containing 2600 inhabitants. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Tegai, a divine of the fifth century, who came over from Armorica with Cadvan, to revive the Christian faith in Britain, then in a declining state, is situated on the river Ogwen, and extends for more than fifteen miles in length, from the shore of the Menai strait far into the mountainous regions of Snowdon, comprehending a widely extended district, abounding with almost every species of mineral treasure. The only historical event peculiarly relating to it is the battle which was fought within its limits, in 1648, between the royalists, under Sir John Owen, and the parliamentary forces under Colonels Carter and Twisleton...The church is beautifully situated on an eminence overlooking the river Ogwen, and commanding and extensive and richly varied prospect; and forms a picturesque and interesing object in the scenery of the grounds of Penrhyn castle, within which it is situated. A chapel, dedicated to St. Anne, was erected near the slate quarries, by the late Lord Penrhyn... There are within the parish two places of worship for Calvinistc methodists, and one each for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyan Methodists. [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]


Records
[edit | edit source]


Civil Registration
[edit | edit source]


Church Records
[edit | edit source]


Census Records
[edit | edit source]


Probate Records
[edit | edit source]


Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]


Websites


[edit | edit source]