To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

La Paz Department, Bolivia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bolivia Wiki Topics
Flag of Bolivia (state).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bolivia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to La Paz Department family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Department of La Paz

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


History[edit | edit source]

  • The Spanish conquerors entered the area in 1535. The control of these Inca lands was entrusted to Pedro de la Gasca by the Spanish king and the Roman emperor Romano, Emperor Charles V.
  • In 1898, La Paz became the de facto seat of the national government, and Sucre remained the nominal judicial capital.
  • The department of La Paz was founded on October 20, 1548 and was created as a department on November 19, 1826.
  • The department of La Paz has a population of approximately 2,719,000 people. [1]

Provinces[edit | edit source]

Abel IturraldeBautista SaavedraEliodoro CamachoMuñecasFranz TamayoOmasuyosManco KapacCaranaviLarecajaPedro Domingo MurilloNor YungasLos AndesSud YungasInquisiviJosé Ramón LoayzaAromaGualberto VillaroelIngaviGeneral José Manuel PandoPacajesLa Paz Department Map.png
About this image

Online Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento de La Paz (Bolivia)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_de_La_Paz_(Bolivia). Visited May 9, 2018.