|Italy Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Italy ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Getting Started with Italy Research
Links to articles on getting started with Italy research.
Italy Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Italy research.
Italy Clickable Map
Genealogy records are kept on the state level in Italy. Click on a state below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information.
Italy is subdivided into 20 regions (regioni, singular regione). Five of these regions have a special autonomous status that enables them to enact legislation on some of their local matters, and are marked by an asterisk (*). It is further divided into 109 provinces (provincie) and 8,101 municipalities (comuni). Records are kept at the town level.
More Italy Research Strategies
Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Italy.
More Italy Research Tools
Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Italy.
- Italian Occupations List
- Italy Websites
- Translation of printed civil marriage forms
- Translation of printed civil death form
- Anglo-Italian Family History Society online transcriptions of Italian names in the 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881 and 1891 England censuses.
- Family History Research Outline - contains many out-of-date links
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Italy Research Tutorials
- Basic Italian Research
- Reading Italian Handwritten Records:
- Lesson 1: The Italian Alphabet
- Lesson 2: Words and Phrases
- Lesson 3: Reading Italian Records
- Wikipedia contributors, "Italy," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italy, accessed 24 March 2016.