To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Herlev Parish, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Herlev, København, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Herlev was traditionally an annex of Gladsakse parish. The priest's farmhouse in Gladsakse burned on 12 May 1750 as well as in January 1849. This latter fire destroyed all of the hovedministerial parish records for both places. As per Danish law, kontraministerial records had been kept from 1814 onwards and kept in separate location and these have survived. Additionally, from 1752-1797 the clerk had made transcripts of the birth records and these have survived as well. Thus for Gladsakse parish birth records are available from 1752-1797, and then births, confirmations, marriages, and burials are available from 1841 when the kontraministerial records begin.

Herlev Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), København (1922-1960), Helsingør (1961-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Gladsakse-Herslev (Early-Post-1891), Herlev (Post-1891-Present)
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 København
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 København
Herred (district) Sokkelund
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 23
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 5
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 1 / 26
Gods (estate) Grebskabet Ledreborg;


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Herlev, Herlevgaard, Herløv, Hjortespring, Højergaard,

Lille Birkholm

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

- Krabsen Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/, Mar. 2012. 

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4d ed. Vol. 2, Frederiksborg, København, og Holbæk Amt. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920.