To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hampton Great and Little, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hampton Great and Little, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hampton Great and Little, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackenhurst
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Evesham
Registration District Evesham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1620
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Evesham
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HAMPTON, GREAT (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Evesham, Lower division of the hundred of Blackenhurst, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 1 mile (W. by S.) from Evesham; containing, with the hamlet of Little Hampton.[1]

HAMPTON, LITTLE, a hamlet, in the parish of Great Hampton, union of Evesham, Lower division of the hundred of Blackenhurst, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, ¾ of a mile (W. by S.) from Evesham.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hampton Great and Little parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Worcestershire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1541-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Worcestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[3]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hampton Great and Little Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1541-1812
1541-1812
1541-1812
TGEN 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1935
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the The Hive (where the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service is located).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 08 October 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 08 October 2013.
  3. Searching Parish Records online (Worcestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.