To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gussage St Andrew, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gussage, Dorset Genealogy)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Gussage St Andrew

Guide to Gussage St Andrew, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

GUSSAGE St Andrew, a tything and a chapelry in Handley parish, Dorset. The tything is conjoint with Minchington, and lies 5½ miles W by N of Cranborne, and 8 NE of Blandford r. station. The chapelry bears the name of Gussage-St. Andrew; and its post town is Gussage, under Cranborne.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Gussage St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-2001 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Dorset Online Parish Clerks - free
ANC 1 = Dorset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Dorset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-1936 (MyHeritage) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Gussage St Andrew Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2001
1538-2001
1538-2001
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1751-1920
1751-1753
1775-1819
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1906
1813-1921
1813-2010
MyH PRs 1538-1936
1538-1936
1538-1936
IGI 1813-1880




FS Catalog PRs
1785-1992
1785-1992
1785-1992
FS Catalog BTs
1766-1879
1766-1879
1766-1879

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 06 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk