To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gualán, Zacapa, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Municipality of Gualán ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History[edit | edit source]

  • After the Independence of Central America, Gualán was assigned to the Zacapa circuit.
  • In 1897 the section of the Northern Railroad was inaugurated from San Agustín Acasaguastlán to Puerto Barrios, passing through Gualán; At that time, the northern region of Guatemala had not been explored and the construction of the railroad started the industrial and commercial exploitation of the region.
  • The municipality of Gualán has a population of approximately 45,000 people[1]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Catalog English.jpg

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • Cementerio Municipal de Gualán
  • Cementerio de Mayuelas

Localities[edit | edit source]

  • Los Achiotes
  • Arenal
  • Barbasco
  • Biafra
  • Cacao
  • El Chile
  • El Filo
  • Guaranja
  • Guazintepeque
  • Iguana
  • Juan Ponce
  • Los Jutes
  • Las Lajas
  • Lajillal
  • Llano Redondo
  • El Lobo
  • Mal Paso
  • Mayuelas
  • Mestizo
  • Rancho De Iguana
  • Santa Teresa
  • Santiago
  • Vainilla

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Gualán," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gual%C3%A1n. Visited 2 October 2017.