To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Friarmere, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Friamere, Yorkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Friarmere, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Friarmere, Yorkshire
Friarmere St. Thomas (Heights Chapel).jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Rochdale
Registration District Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1769
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Friarmere St Thomas is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1795 from  Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire Ancient Parish.It was in the Rochdale deanery of the Diocese of Manchester from 1847.

The church is also known as Heights Chapel. A simple mid 18th century church on a hillside overlooking Delph. The church was built beginning in 1765, probably using the labor of the parishioners, who dubbed it 'Heights Chapel'. It was intended as a chapel of ease for parishioners unable to travel to the parish church at  Saddleworth, Yorkshire.

St Thomas' is a very plain brick building, two storeys high, with a small stone bell-cote at the west end. It is very much in the style of a Georgian 'preaching church', with galleries on the west, north, and south, and a small east sanctuary lit by an Italianate window.

When a new church was built in Delph most of the interior furnishings were transferred there, leaving St Thomas' fairly bare. The modern Friarmere St Thomas parish is in the Saddleworth Team benefice, Oldham East Deanery , Rochdale Archdeaconry of the Diocese of Manchester

The church was deconsecrated and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust who undertook building work during 2010

FRIERMERE, an ecclesiastical district, in the chapelry of Saddleworth, parish of Rochdale, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 1 mile (N.) from Delph. The church, dedicated to St. Thomas, is a plain edifice, consecrated in 1768. The dissenters have two places of worship. There are places of worship for Independents at Delph, Upper Mill, and Spring-head; and for Wesleyans at Delph, Upper Mill, and Bagulay.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records[edit | edit source]

Friarmere parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Friarmere Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Census records[edit | edit source]


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 19 March 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

http://www.visitchurches.org.uk/findachurch/st-thomas-friarmere/?region=Manchester for Churches Conservation Trust Web site for details of the church.

Oldham east Deaconry website http://www.manchester.anglican.org/churches/rochdale-archdeaconry/oldham-east.asp?Page=2

http://www.saddleworth-historical-society.org.uk/overview/overview.htm Saddleworth Historical Society website