East Harlsey, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from East Harlsey, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
North Riding of Yorkshire
East Harlsey

Guide to East Harlsey, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Harlsey, Yorkshire
East Harsley St Oswald Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Northallerton
Registration District Northallerton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1625
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

HARSLEY, EAST, a parish, in the union of North-Allerton, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York, 6¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Northallerton; containing 393 inhabitants. [1]

East Harlsey St Oswald is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Deepdale, Siddle, New Sawcock, and Mount Grace. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described East Harlsey like this:

HARLSEY (EAST), a village and a parish in Northallerton district, N. R. Yorkshire. The village stands 2 miles SE of Welbury r. station, and 5½ NE by N of Northallerton; and has a post-office under Northallerton, The parish includes also the ville of Mount Grace, and comprises 2,802 acres. Real property, £4,113. Pop., 430. Houses, 92. The property is much subdivided. Harlsey Hall is a chief residence. Freestone and ironstone exist, but are not worked. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of York. Value, £200.* Patron, J. Beaumont, Esq. The church is ancient but good; and has a bell-tower. Ruins of a Carthusian priory, founded in 1396 by the Duke of Surrey, are at Mount Grace; and remains of a Lady Chapel, founded in 1515, are on a neighboring eminence.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

East Harlsey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
East Harlsey Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 416-421. Adapted: Date accessed: 28 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk