Connecticut Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
U.S. Archives and Libraries
Connecticut
Archives and Libraries
Connecticut Wiki Topics
Connecticut flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Connecticut Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

These archives, libraries, societies, and museums preserve sources, maintain indexes, and provide services to help genealogists document their ancestors who lived in Connecticut.

Wiki Articles on Major Repositories for Connecticut

Albany Institute of History and Art (NY) • American Antiquarian Society (Worcester MA) • Bennington Museum Research Library (VT) • Connecticut Historical Society • Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library • Connecticut State Library • DPH State Vital Records Office • Godfrey Memorial Library • Jewish Historical Society of Greater New Haven • Mystic Seaport Museum Collections Research Center • National Archives at Boston (Waltham MA) • New England Historic Genealogical Society (Boston MA) • New Haven Museum Whitney Research Library • New York Public Library (NY) • Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hartford • UConn Libraries Homer Babbidge Library • Vermont Historical Society Leahy Library (Barre VT) • Western Connecticut State University Haas Library • Western Reserve Historical Society (Cleveland OH) • Yale University Sterling Memorial Library

Online Records of Connecticut

CT ORP.png
Links to online databases and indexes that may include vital records, biographies, cemeteries, censuses, histories, immigration records, land records, maps, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, obituaries, or probate records.

National Archives at Boston (in Waltham MA)

National Repositories

National Archives at Boston

380 Trapelo Road
Waltham, MA 02452-6399
Phone: (781) 663-0130
Fax: (781) 663-0154
E-mail: waltham.archives@nara.gov
Website: National Archives at Boston

The National Archives at Boston collects Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont documents, photos, and maps of 80 federal agencies, War of 1812, fortifications, coastal facilities, World War II research at Harvard and MIT, federal bankruptcy courts, First Circuit Court of Appeals, Navy, Coast Guard, westward expansion, ethnology, genealogy, Revolutionary War, Civil War, territorial papers, censuses, passenger arrivals for Boston and New England, and Canadian border crossings.[1]

Statewide Repositories

Connecticut Historical Society

Connecticut Historical Society in Hartford
1 Elizabeth Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06105
Telephone: 860-236-5621
Fax: 860-236-2664
E-mail: ask_us@chs.org
Website: Connecticut Historical Society
Town records, biographies, manuscripts, families, early settlers, church records, photos, and maps.[2]

Connecticut State Library

Connecticut State Library in Hartford
231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
Telephone: 860-757-6500 or toll free: 866-886-4478
E-mail: E-mail Us form
Website: Connecticut State Library
Website: History and Genealogy Home
Barbour Collection, Bibles, census, church, Hale Collection newspaper marriages and deaths, manuscripts, books, cemeteries, probates, vital records, directories, land, local histories, maps, military, naturalization, passenger arrivals, and e-mail questions.[2] [3] Holdings include the collection, "Connecticut Archives," 1629–1820. A helpful inventory of this collection is:
Connecticut State Library Digital Collections allows you to search and view books, newspapers, vital records indexes, court records, photographs, and more. These collections are from the State Library, State Archives and Museum of Connecticut History.
The State Library also houses the Museum of Connecticut History (860-757-6521).

Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library

175 Maple Street (Street address)
East Hartford, Connecticut 06118-2634
P.O. Box 435 (Mailing address:)
Glastonbury, CT 06033-0435 USA
Telephone: 860-569-0002
Fax: 860-569-0339
E-mail: E-mail form
Website: Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library

The library's holdings are not limited to Connecticut and include census records, tax lists, family histories, church records, and local histories. Printed genealogies and reference sources, and a unique collection of ancestor charts submitted by members.[4]

DPH State Vital Records Office

410 Capitol Avenue
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
Telephone: 860-509-7700 or 860-509-7897
Website: State Vital Records Office

The State Vital Records Office has the births, marriages, and deaths that have occurred anywhere in Connecticut since July 1, 1897. Individual town offices can provide birth, marriage, or death certificates for events registered in their town in any time period. Especially, for vital records prior to July 1, 1897, contact the town where the vital event occurred. Click the following link to access Application Forms for Requesting a Vital Record from the State or Town. The State Vital Records Office does not accept credit cards, does not accept online orders, and takes 6 to 8 weeks to fill; however, to use credit cards, for online service, or for expedited orders, use the VitalChek Network, Inc. an independent company.[5]

Regional Repositories

Godfrey Memorial Library

134 Newfield St.
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
Telephone: 860-346-4375
Fax: 860-347-9874
E-mail: Sharon@godfrey.org Reference Librarian
Website: Godfrey Memorial Library

The collection is national in scope with many online records in addition to its physical collection. They compiled the American Genealogical and Biographical Index (AGBI). This library is an excellent genealogical facility including many New England town records, guidebooks, indexes, biographies, and genealogies.[2]

Jewish Hist Society of Greater New Haven

Jewish Historical Society of Greater New Haven
PO Box 3251
New Haven, CT 06515-0351 USA
Telephone: 203-392-6125
Email: jhsgnh@yahoo.com
Website: Jewish Historical Society of Greater New Haven

Collects and preserves historical documents, photographs, and memorabilia of the Jewish community. Reaches audiences through publications, exhibitions, seminars, and educational programs.[6]

Mystic Seaport Museum Research Center

Mystic CT Seaport Museum Research Center
Mystic Seaport Museum Collections Research Center
75 Greenmanville Ave.
Mystic, CT 06355
Telephone: 860-572-5367
E-mail: collections@mysticseaport.org
Website: Collections and Library
Best first-stop for ships' logs and images, journals, ledgers, diaries, and documents from the whaling, fishing, and shipping industries. Preserves the maritime history of Connecticut and New England. 1,300 logbooks, 390 collections, and 800 related volumes from 1720-present.[7]

New Haven Museum Whitney Rsrch Library

New Haven Museum Whitney Research Library
114 Whitney Avenue
New Haven CT 06510
Telephone: 203-562-4183 x15
Fax: 203-562-2002
E-mail: library@newhavenmuseum.org
Website: The Whitney Library

This is the best collection of the earliest southern Connecticut town records.[2] They also have passenger arrival lists, Federal censuses, and a complete set of New Haven city directories since 1840.[8] Formerly known as the New Haven Colony Historical Society.

Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hartford

134 Farmington Ave
Hartford, CT 06105
Telephone: 860-541-6491
E-mail: info@archdioceseofhartford.org
Website: Archdiocese of Hartford

Genealogical requests should be in writing (please, no telephone requests) or by appointment to visit the Archives. Sacramental registers of baptisms, first communions, confirmations, marriages and deaths are located at the individual parishes and they should be contacted first for sacramental record requests. If the individual parish cannot locate the record, the Archdiocesan Archivist can search for sacramental records from the period 1829-1999. The Archdiocesan Archives maintains microfilmed copies of Sacramental Registers for the period 1829-1999. A Sacramental Record Inventory by Town/Church, 1829-1964 is available to determine if records are present at the Chancery.[9]

UConn Libraries Homer Babbidge Library

UConn Homer Babbidge Library in Storrs
369 Fairfield Way
Storrs, CT 06269
Telephone: 860-486-2518
E-mail: Ask a library form
Website: UConn Libraries
They have an outstanding Connecticut genealogy collection.[2]

Western Conn State University Haas Library

Western Connecticut State University Haas Library
181 White Street
Danbury, CT 06810
Telephone: 203-837-9100
E-mail: E-Mail Reference form
Website: WSCU Libraries

Their collection includes histories, biographies, genealogies, and local histories.[2]

Yale University Sterling Memorial Library

Yale Univ Sterling Library in New Haven
120 High Street
New Haven, CT 06511-1918
Telephone: 203-432-1775
E-mail: askyale@gmail.com
Website: Sterling Memorial Library
Their genealogical strength is their religious collection and Puritain and Congregational Church records. They are also strong on Connecticut, New Haven, and New England history, manuscripts, diaries, and journals.[2]

Outside of Connecticut Repositories

Albany Institute of History and Art NY

Albany Institute of History and Art

125 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12210
Telephone: 518-463-4478
E-mail: information@albanyinstitute.org
Website: Albany Institute of History and Art Library Collections

This is the best collection of indexes and original records for "old" Albany County, New York, part of which included what is now all of Vermont. During the 1600s many families which started in Connecticut later migrated into Vermont and upstate New York.[2]

American Antiquarian Society

American Antiquarian Society in Worcester MA
185 Salisbury Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609-1634
Telephone: 508-755-5221
Fax: 508-753-3311
E-mail: Library@americanantiquarian.org
Website: American Antiquarian Society
They have many Connecticut vital records, newspapers, and town histories. The AAS is best known for their U.S. newspaper collection of over 18,000 bound volumes 1704-1820, history, genealogy, Bibles, maps, biography, directories, Native Americans, women, canals, railroads, photos, and manuscripts.[10]

Bennington VT Museum Research Libr

Bennington Museum Research Library

75 Main Street
Bennington, Vermont 05201-2885
Telephone: 802-447-1571
E-mail: tresch@benningtonmuseum.org
Website: Bennington Museum Research Library

Their collection includes early Connecticut, New York, and Vermont records. It is a great place to find records of families that moved up the Connecticut River and then west.[2]

NEHGS 101 Newbury St in Boston

New England Historic Genealogical Society

101 Newbury Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02116-3007
Telephone:  617-536-5740; Library 617-226-1231
Fax:  617-536-7307
E-mail:  info@nehgs.org
Website: AmericanAncestors.org

Best overall collection for New England (and Connecticut) vital records and probates, and excellent collection for Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, and Europe. The manuscript collection for members-only has diaries, letters, account books, business papers, church and town records, sermons, maps, wills, deeds, unpublished town and family genealogies, photos, and papers of the region's best genealogists since 1850.[11] [12] [13]

New York Public Library

New York Public Library NY
U.S. History, Local History & Genealogy Division
Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street, Room 315S
New York, New York 10018-2788
Telephone: 212-930-0829
E-mail: Ask a librarian
Website: New York Public Library Genealogy Research
This is one of the largest research libraries in the world including excellent genealogical resources for Connecticut. The library has city and telephone directories, vital records indexes, local histories, genealogies, federal and state censuses, passenger lists, genealogical collections (including DAR transcripts), and church records.[14] For maps, write to the Map Division at the same address.

Vermont Historical Society Leahy Library

VT Historical Society Leahy Library in Barre VT
Vermont History Center
60 Washington Street
Barre, Vermont 05641
Telephone: 802-479-8500
E-mail: info@vermonthistory.org
Website: Vermont History Center
VHS is a good place to research former early Connecticut residents who later moved to Vermont.[2]
  • Brigham, Loriman S. Guide to the "Miscellaneous File" of Uncatalogued Material in the Vermont Historical Society: With a Supplementary Index to the Guide. Montpelier, Vermont: n.p.,1969. WorldCat 679814; FHL book 974.3 A3b; film 908069, item 20; fiche 6046847. This card index of persons, places, and subjects includes family histories and court, business, and land records. The family histories listed may have genealogies, pictures, military records, financial family papers, and correspondence.
  • Brigham, Loriman S. A Calendar of Manuscripts in Certain Boxes at the Vermont Historical Society. Montpelier, Vermont: n.p., 1970. WorldCat 679715; FHL book 974.3 A3br; film 908503 item 1. This is a continuation of the above guide.
  • Brigham, Loriman S. A Calendar of Manuscripts in Document Boxes at the Vermont Historical Society. Montpelier, Vermont: n.p., 1972. WorldCat 865949996; FHL book 974.3 A3bri; film 908503 item 2 This is a continuation of the above guide.

Western Reserve Historical Society

Western Reserve Hist Soc in Cleveland OH
10825 East Boulevard
Cleveland, Ohio 44106-1788
Telephone: 216-721-5722 x1509
Fax: 216-721-0645
E-mail: reference@wrhs.org
Website: Family History and Genealogical Research
The Western Reserve was a large part of Ohio at first intended for settlement by Connecticut Revolutionary War refugees. The Research Library at the Western Reserve Historical Society History Center  is the premier repository for Cleveland, Ohio and the Connecticut Western Reserve  history material. This important collection includes original land records, as well as many genealogies, biographies, histories, and Bibles from Pennsylvania, New York, and New England.[15] Includes over 20 million manuscripts for genealogical research and northeast Ohio history. They have the world's largest and most comprehensive collection of Shaker materials. Other important collections include the American Civil War, and the automotive industry.[16]
  • Kermit J. Pike, A Guide to the Manuscripts and Archives of the Western Reserve Historical Society (Cleveland, Ohio: Western Reserve Historical Society, 1972). WorldCat 483574; FHL Book 977.1 A3p.
  • Western Reserve Historical Society. History Library. Card Catalog to the Manuscripts Collection in the Library of the Western Reserve Historical Society (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974). WorldCat 865891564; FHL Films 934566-69; 934617-18.

Family History Centers

Some of the above collections are partially duplicated at the Family History Library and its branch Family History Centers around the world. Most centers can help you by:

  • Giving you limited, personal, one-on-one research suggestions (but they do not do research for you)
  • Providing access to genealogical records through the Internet FHC Portal.
  • Offering free how-to classes (varies by location)
  • Fostering contact between genealogical enthusiasts

There are several centers located in Connecticut, for example:

Groton Connecticut Family History Center
1230 Flander Rd
Mystic, Connecticut USA
Telephone: 860-536-5102
Each center is staffed by volunteers and has varying hours and services. Telephone in advance to verify their hours.

To locate one of these 4,500 centers in your own neighborhood, see Find a Family History Center.

For Further Reading

References

  1. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 124. WorldCat 39493985. FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 2.8 2.9 Dollarhide and Bremer, 25.
  3. History and Genealogy Home in CT State Library (accessed 21 September 2015).
  4. Membership Benefits in Connecticut Society of Genealogists (accessed 18 March 2017).
  5. State Vital Records Office in [Connecticut] Department of Public Health (accessed 18 March 2017).
  6. Home in Jewish Historical Society of Greater New Haven (accessed 18 Mar 2017).
  7. Manuscripts in Mystic Seaport: the Museum of America and the Sea (accessed 20 September 2015).
  8. New Haven Museum and Historical Society in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 18 September 2015).
  9. Archdiocesan Archives in Diocese of Hartford (accessed 18 March 2017).
  10. Dollarhide and Bremer, 59.
  11. "New England Historic Genealogical Society" in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_England_Historic_Genealogical_Society (accessed 30 August 2010).
  12. Using the NEHGS Library in American Ancestors" (accessed 21 September 2015).
  13. Dollarhide and Bremer, 5, 57, and 59.
  14. Dollarhide and Bremer, 81.
  15. Dollarhide and Bremer, 89.
  16. Significant Collections in Western Reserve Historical Society (accessed 27 February 2015).

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Connecticut_Archives_and_Libraries&oldid=2953811"