Calverley, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Calverley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bradford|
|Parish registers: 1574|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CALVERLEY (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire; containing the chapelries of Idle and Pudsey; other places of worship include: Primative Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist.
CALVERLEY (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, W. riding ofYork, 5 miles (N. E.) from Bradford; containing, withthe township of Bolton and the chapelries of Idle andPudsey, 21,039 inhabitants, of whom 4142 are in the township of Calverley cum Farsley. There are some places of worship for dissenters. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Calverley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Calverley Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wilson John M., uk/descriptions, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London Edinburgh: 1870;
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 474-479. URL: Date accessed: 04 December 2013.