Brigg, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Brigg, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Market-Town and Chapelry History
Brigg St John the Evangelist was formerly a chapel of ease in Broughton, Lincolnshire Ancient Parish.
The church was built in 1842-1843 by W A Nicholson as a replacement for the former chapel of ease and has been designated a grade C listed building by English Heritage. listed building
Brigg (formerly Glanford Brigg) is a market town and was home to the Glanford Brigg Union Workhouse
GLANDFORD BRIGG or BRIDGE, a market-townand chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parishof Wrawby, S. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 24 miles (N. by E.) from Lincoln, and 153 (N. by W.) from London."
This parish was in the Brigg sub-district of the Glanford Brigg registration district Glanford Brigg registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Brigg parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Brigg Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 294-298. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.