Benton County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Benton County

Guide to Benton County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Benton County, Oregon
Map of Oregon highlighting Benton County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Founded December 23, 1847
County Seat Corvallis
Address Benton County Courthouse
180 NW 5th Street
Corvallis, OR 97330-4777
Phone: 541.757.6800
Benton County Website

County Information

Benton County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1907 1850 1850 1851 1850

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1850
and military discharge records from 1919. [1]

Wikipedia has more about this subject: Benton County, Oregon

Records held at County Courthouse

  • Record Loss:

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Oregon, Benton County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Quick Facts


Named after Thomas Hart Benton, U.S. Senator from Missouri, who advocated U.S. control over Oregon Country.

Parent County

23 December 1847: from Polk County. [2]

Boundary Changes

20 February 1893: Lincoln County. 28 January 1851: Umpqua County.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places


Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Adair Village | Albany | Corvallis | Monroe | Philomath


Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Alder | Alpine | Alsea | Bellfountain | Blodgett | Dawson | Flynn | Glenbrook | Greenberry | Hoskins | Kings Valley | Lewisburg | Noon | Summit | Wren

Neighboring Counties

Lane | Lincoln | Linn | Polk

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
ORGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
ORGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.


  • 1850
  • 1853 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1854 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records




Land and Property



Military History and Records

Civil War


Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways


Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth Records

Delayed Birth Certificates

Birth Registers

Marriage Records

  1. Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
  2. Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection

Death Records

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Benton County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1646
Philomath 97370

Benton County Historical Society
1101 Main Street
Philomath 97370
Telephone: 541-929-6230

Benton County History Ctr
110 Nw 3rd St
Corvallis 97330-4701

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].