Ardsley, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Ardsley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barnsley|
|Parish registers: 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1842|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Chapel History[edit | edit source]
ARDSLEY, a township and chapelry, in Darfield parish, wapentake of Staincross, West riding Yorkshire, 2 miles (E. by S.) from Barnsley; containing 1226 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Darfield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ARDSLEY CHAPELRY (1694) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ardsley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Darfield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Darfield page.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ardsley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ardsley Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.