Zennor, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cornwall
Cornwall Parishes
Zennor

Guide to Zennor, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Zennor, Cornwall
Zennor Church Cornwall.JPG
Zennor Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History

ZENNOR (St. Sennar), a parish, in the union of Penzance, W. division of the hundred of Penwith and of the county of Cornwall, 5 miles (W. S. W.) from St. Ives. There are places of worship for Bryanites and Wesleyans. [1]


Zennor (Cornish: Eglossenara) St Senara is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Porthmeor, Tendrine, and Tregerthen.

There is a local legend about a mermaid in Zennor. Matthew Trewhella was a good-looking young man with a good voice. Each evening Matthew would sing the closing hymn at the church in Zennor, solo. A mermaid living in neighbouring Pendour Cove was enchanted by the music. She dressed in a long dress to hide her long tail and walked a bit awkwardly to the church. Initially, she just marvelled at Matthew's singing before slipping away to return to the sea. She came every day, and eventually became bolder, staying longer. It was on one of these visits that her gaze met Matthew's, and they fell in love. However, the mermaid knew she had to go back to the sea or die. As she prepared to leave, Matthew said "Please do not leave, who are you, where are you from?". The mermaid told him that she was a creature from the sea and that she must go back. Matthew was so love-struck that he swore he would follow her wherever she went. Matthew carried her to the cove and followed her beneath the waves, never to be seen again.

It is said that if you sit above Pendour Cove at sunset on a fine summer evening you might hear Matthew singing faintly on the breeze.

At St. Senara Church in Zennor visitors may see a carved bench-end over 600 years old showing the mermaid.

'Zeal-Monachorum - Zennor', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 742.  Date accessed: 24 March 2011.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Zennor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Zennor Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Penzance Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:

Websites

Zennor in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 742. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk