Yukon, Canada Genealogy
|Yukon Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Yukon ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Yukon Information[edit | edit source]
Yukon is the smllest and most western of Canada's 3 federal territories. Whitehorse is the capital and Yukon's only city.
History[edit | edit source]
Europeans came into the area early in the 19th century with the fur trade, followed by missionaries. In the 1870s and 1880s gold miners began to arrive. This drove a population increase that justified the establishment of a police force, just in time for the start of the Klondike Gold Rush in 1897. The increased population coming with the gold rush led to the separation of the Yukon district from the Northwest Territories and the formation of the separate Yukon Territory in 1898.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Yukon Research
Links to articles on getting started with Yukon research.
Yukon Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Yukon research.
Yukon Map[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
|FORMER NAME, if applicable||TYPE||
|Whitehorse||White Horse (1957)||city|| Link
|ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???||Link|
Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.