Youth and Family Summer Challenge -Family History
Choose 5 activities in the Discover, Share, and Cherish sections, completing 15 activities by the end of summer.
Earn prizes for evey 5 activities you complete.
(PP = Personal Progress ... complete 10 hours of family history for a Personal Progress Project or for hours towards your Honor Bee. BSA-GM = Boy Scouts Genealogy Merit Badge. CS = Cub Scouts)
Discover[edit | edit source]
- Choose a deceased ancestor and find an immigration record, birth record, marriage record, or death record, and attach it as a source for that ancestor.
- Complete three mini classes and attend a Saturday class.
- Choose an ancestor who was born before 1925. Learn about the time period in which he or she lived. Read one book about that time period. Ask yourself how living then would have affected that ancestor. Write down what you have learned from this experience.
- Learn how to find one of your ancestors in a census. Attach three census records to this ancestor's sources.
- Find an ancestor who immigrated to the United States. Find out what country this person came from, the reason for coming to the United States, the method of travel, and the size of the family. Write down what you have learned.
- What countries are your ancestors from? Make a list of these countries.
- Strengthen the trunk of your family tree. Go to www.createfan.com and log in with your FamilySearch account. Choose the Source Tracker option. View your ancestors and connect sources to two ancestors.
- Go to www.puzzilla.org and log in with your FamilySearch account. Change the view to 9 or 10 generations and find a line that you can research. Add information to that line.
- Draw a family tree or poster that depicts the origins of your ancestors. Include several generations. (CS Heritage belt loop #2 and #3)
- Visit the Sandy Granite Family History Center and explore one of the premium websites. Find information on one of your ancestors. (CS Heritage pin)
[edit | edit source]
- Index 200 names.
- Bring two friends to the FHC.
- Share with your family a new skill learned at a class, a story you have found, or sources/photos you have discovered. (PP - Good Works #4)
- Come as a family to the FHC and share a skill you have learned.
- Make a book with the story and photos of your ancestor. Share it with your family. (June 19 at the FHC)
- Attach 15 sources to ancestors on a family tree
- Attach 10 stories or memories to ancestors on a family tree.
- Bring a grandparent to the center and show him or her how to log on to FamilySearch.org. Demonstrate the documents, stories, and photo features.
- Help someone log in to FamilySearch for the first time and show them how to start their family tree.
Cherish[edit | edit source]
- Open your fan chart on FamilySearch.org. How many of the people shown do you know? (How many children did they have? What were their occupations? Where did they live? Do they have life histories written? Have you read them?) Choose 2 of these ancestors and learn more about them. Write down what you have learned.
- Interview a living grandparent about his or her life or the life of one of their parents or grandparents. Write down what you learn. (PP - Faith #2, Divine Nature #2, Integrity #4, BSA-GM #3, CS Heritage pin #5)
- Interview a parent and write their life history.
- Learn to scan photos at the FHC. Bring a parent or grandparent and scan 10 photos. (Class on June 21 at the FHC)
- Find a picture of a WW II ancestor and pin it up on the WW II display. Learn about their military service.
- Add 10 photos to deceased ancestors on FamilySearch.org.
- Start your own Book of Remembrance. Include the photos and histories of at least 3 people on your fan chart. Choose 3 histories and read them. Write down what you learn.
- Find letters or a journal that an ancestor has written, and read them. If they have not been preserved digitally, scan them. Write down what you have learned.
- Visit the grave of an ancestor. Find that person's history and read it while there. If you do not have their history, learn as much as you can about the ancestry and write a history.
- What do you want to be remembered about you? Decide to keep a journal and decide how you can preserve your memories. (PP - Individual Worth #4, Choice and Accountability #2, #6)