Yorkshire Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Yorkshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Yorkshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Yorkshire Background
Local Research Resources
York Minster, Yorkshire


Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

Images of many of Yorkshire's parish registers are available online at Ancestry (West Riding) and FamilySearch.

Baptisms

371,661 Yorkshire entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£).

Marriages

608 Yorkshire parishes are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£).

229 Yorkshire parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Popular places to marry included the towns of Bradford, CalverleyDoncaster, Elland, Howden, Leeds, Rotherham, Rothwell, Sheffield, Wakefield, and York.[1]

94,468 Yorkshire entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£).

1594-1815 Durham Diocese, Calendar Of Marriage Bonds & Allegations 1594-1815 at findmypast ($)

Burials

Burials from 635 Yorkshire places (1,776,993 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[2]

Marriage Licences[edit | edit source]

Online

  • 1567-1630 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses in Yorkshire Archaeological Journal:
  • 1630-1645 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses Vol. 1 at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1660-1674 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses Vol. 2 at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1674-1714 - Paver's Yorkshire Marriage Licenses Vol. 3 at Internet Archive - free.

Printed Indexes

  • 1613-1839 - An Index of Marriage Bonds and Allegations in the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York, 1613-1839. FHL Book 942.74 K22ne. Also available online at Origins.net - (£).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.