Yorkshire Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Yorkshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Yorkshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Yorkshire Background
Local Research Resources
England
Yorkshire
Archives and Libraries


Contents

Record Offices

North Yorkshire County Record Office

North Yorkshire County Record Office
County Record Office
Malpas Road
Northallerton, North Yorkshire DL7 8TB UK
Telephone: 01609 777585
Email: archives@northyorks.gov.uk
Website: North Yorkshire County Record Office

North Yorkshire county record office provides record keeping services for North Yorkshire County Council and its communities. It collects, preserves and makes accessible historic and current records of significance for the study of North Yorkshire and its people and holds them in trust for the use of present and future generations. The archives we hold date from the 12th century to the present day and cover over five miles of shelving. Most of these collections can be freely consulted in our public searchroom.

Archives

Borthwick Institute

Borthwick Institute
University Library and Archives
University of York
Heslington, York YO10 5DD UK
Telephone: 01904 321166
Email: borthwick-institute@york.ac.uk
Website: Borthwick Institute

Our mission - We support and expand the University of York's cultural endeavour and contribute to human understanding through collecting archives, preserving them and making them widely available for research to all people, now and in the future.

The Yorkshire Archaeological & Historical Society

The Yorkshire Archaeological & Historical Society
Suite 10E
Joseph's Well
Hanover Way
Leeds, Yorkshire LS3 1AB UK
Telephone: 0113 245 7910
Email: yas.secretary@gmail.com
Website: The Yorkshire Archaeological & Historical Society

The Yorkshire Archaeological and Historical Society (known until recently as the Yorkshire Archaeological Society) has promoted the study of Yorkshire’s past since 1863, when it was created as the Huddersfield Archaeological and Topographical Association. On this site you'll find details of the society's historical and archaeological activities across Yorkshire - lectures, excursions, publications, projects - and links to its vibrant special interest sections.

EAST YORKSHIRE

East Riding of Yorkshire Archives Service

East Riding of Yorkshire Archives Service
The Treasure House
Champney Road
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire HU17 9BA UK
Telephone: 01482 392790
Email: archives.service@eastriding.gov.uk
Website: East Yorkshire Archive and Local Studies Service

The Treasure House is a one-stop centre for heritage and information services, providing access to museum, library and archive services under one roof.

Hull History Centre

Hull History Centre
Worship Street
Kingston upon Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire HU2 8BG, UK
Telephone: 01482 317500
Email (general enquires): hullhistorycentre@hcandl.co.uk
Website: Hull History Centre

The home for Hull City Archives, Hull Local Studies Library and Hull University Archives. Explore the site to learn more about the History Centre and our collections, search our online catalogue, read our top tips on planning your visit, find out more about our enquiry service, or look to see the events and courses we run.

NORTH YORKSHIRE

Explore York Libraries & Archives

Explore York Libraries & Archives
York Explore Library Learning Centre
Museum Street
York, North Yorkshire YO1 7DS UK
Telephone: 01904 552800
Email: archives@exploreyork.org.uk
Website: Explore York Libraries & Archives

We have a wide variety of resources available to support your family history research, whether you’re just beginning and are looking for a place to start or have been researching your family tree for a while and are looking for something specific.

Great Ayton Discovery Centre

Great Ayton Discovery Centre
105b High Street
Great Ayton
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire TS9 6NB UK
Telephone: 01642 723268
Email: greataytondisco@outlook.com
Website: Great Ayton Discovery Centre
Website: Visit Great Ayton Discovery Centre

Great Ayton Discovery Centre is home to an extensive book library, DVD's, newspapers and magazines, photography, arts and crafts and a computer and internet area with free wifi should you require any of these services whilst staying or visiting the village. Great Ayton Discovery Centre is home to an extensive book library, DVD's, newspapers and magazines, photography, arts and crafts and a computer and internet area with free wifi should you require any of these services whilst staying or visiting the village.

Teesside Archives

Teesside Archives
Exchange House
Exchange Square
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire TS1 1DB UK
Telephone: 01642 248321
Email: teesside_archives@middlesbrough.gov.uk
Website: Teesside Archives

Teesside Archives collects, catalogues and preserves records and documents relating to the areas of Middlesbrough, Stockton, Hartlepool, and Redcar & Cleveland, and makes them accessible for research.

SOUTH YORKSHIRE

Barnesley Archives

Barnsley Archives
Barnsley Archives and Local Studies Department
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Barnsley Central Library
Shambles Street
Barnsley, South Yorkshire S70 2JF UK
Telephone: 01226 773950
Email: archives@barnsley.gov.uk
Website: Barnesley Archives and Discovery Centre

Barnsley Archives and Local Studies collects, preserves and makes available the documentary heritage of the Metropolitan Borough of Barnsley. Contained in secure and environmentally-controlled stores are thousands of boxes of archives donated by individuals, families and organisations, charting the history of the borough from the 12th to 21st centuries.

Doncaster Archives

Doncaster Archives
King Edward Road
Balby
Doncaster, South Yorkshire DN4 0NA UK
Telephone: 01302 859811
Email: doncaster.archives@doncaster.gov.uk
Website: Doncaster Archives

Our archives and local studies services collect, preserve and provide access to a comprehensive collection of historical and contemporary information relating to the town of Doncaster, its metropolitan district and some adjacent areas. We have expertise in the interpretation of historical information and statistics, and are always ready to lend whatever assistance the researcher might require, regardless of subject matter.

Rotherham Archives

Rotherham Archives
Archives and Local Studies Service
Rotherham Central Library
Walker Place
Rotherham, South Yorkshire S65 1JH UK
Telephone: 01709 823616
Email: archives@rotherham.gov.uk
Website: Rotherham Archives

The Archives and Local Studies service collects, preserves and makes available documents and publications covering all aspects of life in the borough from the earliest times to the present day.

Sheffield Archives

Sheffield Archives
52 Shoreham Street
Sheffield, South Yorkshire S1 4SP UK
Telephone: 0114 2039395
Email: archives@sheffield.gov.uk
Website: Sheffield Archives

We provide a range of resources, materials and advice for those researching their family history. We hold documents and records relating to ancestors that may have serviced in World War One, local Parish records from 1538, birth, marriage and death records, trade directories 1774-1974, workhouse registers 1838-1930, census returns 1841-1911 and more. The wide range of materials available can help you to build up and complete your family history and learn more about your roots and the changing dynamics of your family over the years.

WEST YORKSHIRE

Bradford Archives

Bradford Archives
Margaret McMillan Tower
Prince's Way
Bradford, West Yorkshire BD1 1NN UK
Telephone: 0113 3939785
Email: bradford@wyjs.org.uk
Website: Bradford Archives

A range of talks are available to groups and organisations who would like to find out more about our Archive Service. In our talks we aim to explain the work we do and help to raise public awareness of our collections and expertise. We offer many different talks, details of which and how to book can be found here. This is also applicable to the four archives below.

Calderdale Archives

Calderdale Archives
Central Library
Northgate House
Northgate
Halifax, West Yorkshire HX1 1UN UK
Telephone: 01422 392636
Email: calderdale@wyjs.org.uk
Website: Calderdale Archives

The Calderdale Collections include archives of local businesses, trade unions and friendly societies; records of local industrial and commercial activities including textiles, banking, brewing, clay and brick making, clock making, coal mining, printing, stone quarrying and wire manufacturing; family and estate records including the world famous UNESCO award-winning diaries of Anne Lister of Shibden Hall (1806-1840); and large quantities of nonconformist church records.

Kirklees Archives

Kirklees Archives
Huddersfield Library and Art Gallery
Princess Alexandra Walk
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire HD1 2SU UK
Telephone: 01484 221966
Email: kirklees@wyjs.org.uk
Website: Kirklees Archives

Collects, preserves and administers the records of Kirklees Council and its predecessor authorities. Also family and estate papers, school records, enclosure awards, business records and collections relating to local societies, charities, trade unions, parish registers and nonconformist churches.

Leeds Archives

Leeds Archives
Nepshaw Lane South
Morley
Leeds, West Yorkshire LS27 7JQ UK
Telephone: 0113 3939788
Email: leeds@wyjs.org.uk
Website: Leeds Archives

Wakefield Archives

Wakefield Archives
Nepshaw Lane South
Morley
Leeds, West Yorkshire LS27 7JQ UK
Telephone: 0113 3939788
Email: leeds@wyjs.org.uk
Website: Wakefield Archives

Libraries

EAST YORKSHIRE

Beverley Library

Beverley Library
Champney Road
Beverley, East Yorkshire HU17 8HE UK
Telephone: 01482 392750/392751
Email: beverley.library@eastriding.gov.uk
Website: Beverley Library

Access to research papers, academic articles, Ordnance Survey maps, phone directories and local family history information.

Brynmor Jones Library

Brynmor Jones Library
University of Hull
Cottingham Road
Kingston upon Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire HU6 7RX UK
Telephone: 01482 466581
Email: libhelp@hull.ac.uk
Website: Brynmor Jones Library

The Brynmor Jones Library is the academic heart of the University of Hull’s city campus. It is to benefit from a multi-million pound investment, creating a stunning new focal point for students, staff, and visitors alike.

NORTH YORKSHIRE

Harrogate Library

Harrogate Library
Victoria Avenue
Harrogate, North Yorkshire HG1 1EG UK
Telephone: 01609 533189
Email: harrogate.library@northyorks.gov.uk
Website: Harrogate Library

Northallerton Library

Northallerton Library
Northallerton Library & Customer Services Centre
1 Thirsk Rd
Northallerton, North Yorkshire DL6 1PT UK
Telephone: 1609 533832
Email: northallerton.library@northyorks.gov.uk
Website: Northallerton Library

York Library

York Library
Library Square
York, North Yorkshire YO1 7DS UK
Telephone: 1904 552800
Email: archives@exploreyork.org.uk
Website: York Library

Documents dating back to 1155 from City of York Council and its predecessors are held in the civic archive. Our community collections include personal and family papers as well as the records of York-based charities, businesses and community groups.

SOUTH YORKSHIRE

Riverside Library

Riverside Library
Main Street
Rotherham, South Yorkshire S60 1AE UK
Telephone: 01709 336774
Email: e-libraries@rotherham.gov.uk
Website: Riverside Library

As well as holding the largest collection and range of lending materials in the borough, the Library at Riverside also houses heritage and arts items within its space.

Sheffield Central Library

Sheffield Central Library
Surrey St
Sheffield, South Yorkshire S1 1XZ UK
Telephone: 114 2734712
Email: central.lending@sheffield.gov.uk
Website: Sheffield Central Library
Catalogue: Sheffield Archives online catalogue

City Archives & Local Studies have countless hundreds of thousands of items which amount to almost 10 kilometres of books and documents. The Sheffield Archives online catalogue contains information about the collections held by Sheffield Archives, relating to Sheffield, South Yorkshire and parts of north east Derbyshire.

WEST YORKSHIRE

Bradford City Library

Bradford City Library
9 Aldermanbury
Centenary Square
Bradford, West Yorkshire BD1 1SD UK
Telephone: 1274 433600
Email: city.library@bradford.gov.uk
Website: Bradford City Library

The new City Library will hold 60,000 books, 40 computers, a range of newspapers and journals as well as study space and Wi-Fi. Library staff will be on hand to help people with their choice of books, answer information enquiries and help people gain IT skills.

Castleford Forum Library and Museum

Castleford Forum Library and Museum
Carlton St
Castleford, West Yorkshire WF10 1BB UK
Telephone: 01977 722085
Email: castlefordlibrary@wakefield.gov.uk
Website: Castleford Forum Library and Museum

In 2013 the old two story Carnegie Library at Castleford was transformed into an open plan three story Library and Museum. The library covers the two lower floors of the building, on the top floor the museum captures the history of Castleford, from the Bronze Age to the modern day. A brief history of the Carnegie Library at Castleford is available in the downloads section on this page.

Halifax Central Library

Halifax Central Library
Northgate
Halifax, West Yorkshire HX1 1UN UK
Telephone: 1422 392630
Email: libraries@calderdale.gov.uk
Website: Halifax Central Library

Calderdale libraries offer a wealth of resources to anyone interested in local and family history. The West Yorkshire Archive Service has a base in the Central Library, Halifax. Five district libraries have Local Studies collections in addition to the main collection at Central Library, Halifax. All these libraries have a book collection plus other highlights.

Huddersfield Library

Huddersfield Library
Princess Alexandra Walk
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire HD1 2SU UK
Telephone: 01484 414868
Email: huddersfield.lic@kirklees.gov.uk
Website: Huddersfield Library

Leeds Central Library

Leeds Central Library
Municipal Buildings
Calverley Street
Leeds, West Yorkshire LS1 3AB UK
Telephone: 0113 378 5005
Email: libraryenquiries@leeds.gov.uk
Website: Leeds Central Library

Discover your family history and research the local area in the Local and Family History library, located on the 2nd floor of Leeds Central Library.

Pontefract Library

Pontefract Library
Market Pl
Pontefract, West Yorkshire WF8 1BD UK
Telephone: 1977 727692
Email: pontefractlibrary@wakefield.gov.uk
Website: Pontefract Library

The first 'free' public library in Pontefract was built with money donated by the famous philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. The Art Nouveau building was officially opened on the 21st of September 1905. The current library was opened in 1975. The old Carnegie library later became Pontefract Museum. See the downloads section for a brief history of Pontefract Library.

Wakefield Library

Wakefield Library
Burton St
Wakefield, West Yorkshire WF1 2EB UK
Telephone: 1924 305376
Email: wakefieldlibrarymuseum@wakefield.gov.uk
Website: Wakefield Library

Museums

EAST YORKSHIRE

The Bayle Museum

The Bayle Museum
Baylegate
Old Town
Bridlington, East Yorkshire YO16 7JT UK
Telephone: 1262 674308
Email: bayle@lordsfeoffees.com
Website: The Bayle Museum

Beverley Guildhall

Beverley Guildhall
42 Toll Gavel
Beverley, East Yorkshire HU17 9AR UK
Telephone: 1482 392783
Email: fiona.jenkinson@eastriding.gov.uk
Website: Beverley Guildhall

The Beverley Guildhall is a Grade 1 listed building which has had a long and fascinating history. Originally purchased by the Beverley town keepers in 1501, it has been in continuous civic use since then. Today it is run as a historic building and community museum but is still used for ceremonial civic occasions. It is worth visiting this beautiful building, if only for the stunning Georgian courtroom featuring plaster stucco-work by Giuseppe Cortese.

Goole Museum

Goole Museum
Goole Library
Carlisle St
Goole, East Yorkshire DN14 5DS UK
Telephone: 1405 768963
Email: janet.tierney@eastriding.gov.uk
Website: Goole Museum

Goole Community Museum is located on the first floor of the Goole Library building, and explores the history of the historic port town of Goole through permanent displays and a temporary exhibition programme. The museum welcomes visits from schools and community groups, and has a dedicated Education Room in which pupils and visitors can work with the museum collections.

Hornsea Museum

Hornsea Museum
Burns Farm
11-17 Newbegin
Hornsea, East Yorkshire HU18 1AB UK
Telephone: 1964 533443
Email: hornseamuseum@tiscali.co.uk
Website: Hornsea Museum

Based in an 18th Century farmhouse, this award-winning museum depicts the changing patterns of village life over the past centuries. Here you’ll also find an exhibition of Hornsea Pottery, and have the opportunity learn more about this famous pottery and what it means to the people of the town.

NORTH YORKSHIRE

Dales Countryside Museum

Dales Countryside Museum
National Park Centre
Station Yard
Burtersett Rd
Hawes, North Yorkshire DL8 3NT UK
Telephone: 1969 666210
Email: dcm@yorkshiredales.org.uk
Website: Dales Countryside Museum

Dales Countryside Museum tells the fascinating story of the Yorkshire Dales and the people who have lived and worked here and shaped the landscape for thousands of years.

Knaresborough Castle and Museum

Knaresborough Castle and Museum
Castle Yard
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire HG5 8AS UK
Telephone: 01423 556188
Email: museums@harrogate.gov.uk
Website: Knaresborough Castle and Museum

In a stunning cliff-top location towering over the River Nidd stands Knaresborough Castle, once a mighty stronghold of medieval kings. The Courthouse Museum tells the story of Knaresborough and many of the its fascinating residents from the past. Housed in the Tudor courthouse with its extremely rare original interior, the museum reveals fascinating details from the Middle Ages to the Victorian period. Our newly opened 17th century gallery explores the role that Knaresborough Castle played in the English Civil War.

National Railway Museum

National Railway Museum
Leeman Rd
York, North Yorkshire YO26 4XJ UK
Telephone: 844 815 3139
Email: nrm.visitorservices@nrm.org.uk
Website: National Railway Museum

Discover 300 years of history and 1,000,000 objects that changed the world in the UK's largest railway museum.

SOUTH YORKSHIRE

Clifton Park Museum

Clifton Park Museum
Clifton Ln
Rotherham, South Yorkshire S65 2AA UK
Telephone: 1709 336633
Email: cliftonparkmuseum@rotherham.gov.uk
Website: Clifton Park Museum

The Museum highlights the history of the borough in a way that appeals to all ages and helps to bring both our lives, and those of our ancestors, into sharp focus.

Doncaster Museum and Art Gallery

Doncaster Museum and Art Gallery
Chequer Rd
Doncaster, South Yorkshire DN1 2AE UK
Telephone: 1302 734293
Email: museumD@doncaster.gov.uk
Website: Doncaster Museum and Art Gallery

Doncaster Museum and Art Gallery was opened in 1964 to display important collections of natural history, archaeology, local history, fine and decorative art. There is also a large and varied temporary exhibition programme throughout the year, as well as special activities for all ages.

Weston Park Museum

Weston Park Museum
Western Bank
Sheffield, South Yorkshire S10 2TP UK
Telephone: 114 2782600
Email: info@museums-sheffield.org.uk
Website: Weston Park Museum

Weston Park is an award-winning, family-friendly museum where the visitors come first. If visiting with children, simply wind up and release, but there is plenty of treasure here for adults too. Discover the real story of Sheffield, from its geological roots to the people, politics and music that shaped the modern city.

WEST YORKSHIRE

Leeds City Museum

Leeds City Museum
Millennium Square
Leeds, West Yorkshire LS2 8BH UK
Telephone: 113 2243732
Email: city.museum@leeds.gov.uk
Website: Leeds City Museum

The museum was officially opened in September 2008 and replaces the old museum. Many of the famous objects from the old Leeds City Museum are on display, including the famous Leeds Tiger, fossils, lots of artwork and much about the history of Leeds.

Tolson Museum

Tolson Museum
Ravensknowle Park
Wakefield Road
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire HD5 8DJ UK
Telephone: 1484 223240
Email: tolson.museum@kirklees.gov.uk
Website: Tolson Museum

A vivid and intriguing picture of the area and its people, from pre-history to present day, revealed through unique collections. From Roman finds to textiles, birds to transport, Tolson is a treasure house of the fascinating, the curious and the amazing.

Wakefield Museum

Wakefield Museum
3 Burton St
Wakefield, West Yorkshire WF1 2DD UK
Telephone: 1924 305356
Email: museums@wakefield.gov.uk
Website: Wakefield Museum

​Wakefield Museum is a stimulating and vibrant part of the new and prestigious Wakefield One building in the heart of Wakefield. The museum is located on the lower ground floor along with Local Studies where you are invited to explore and engage with the history of the people of Wakefield.

For a long list of East Yorkshire museums, go to List of museums in East Yorkshire in Wikipedia.
For a long list of North Yorkshire museums, go to List of museums in North Yorkshire in Wikipedia.
For a long list of South Yorkshire museums, go to List of museums in South Yorkshire in Wikipedia.
For a long list of West Yorkshire museums, go to List of museums in West Yorkshire in Wikipedia.