York St Nicholas, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to York St Nicholas, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|York St Nicholas, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||York|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||City of York|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.
York St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: York St Helen, Fishergate and York St Edward.
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in York, but the exact parish in which each chapel or congregation resided have not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, and General Baptist. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
York St Nicholas, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|YORK ST NICHOLAS (1***) Online Records|
Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collection St. Nicholas - 1600 - chapel to St Nicholas Hospital; closed by 1644
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.