York St Crux, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to York St Crux, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|York St Crux, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||York|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Rural Deanery||City of York|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.
York St Crux is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Wesleyan Methodist Association is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in York St Crux. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in York, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, and General Baptist.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location pin, click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of York St. Crux exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|BMI = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|YORK ST CRUX (1536) Online Records|
|BIVRI||1716-1812, 1872-1881, 1885-1887||1541-1812, 1837-1880|
Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collection St. Crux - 1539 .
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
- Maps Familysearch
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 16 October 2014.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 October 2014.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 15 October 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.