York Minster Yard with Beddern, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to York Minster Yard with Beddern, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

York Minster Yard with Beddern, Yorkshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.[1]

York Minster Yard with Beddern is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for York Minster Yard with Beddern. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

York Minster Yard with Beddern, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
****PARISH NAME**** ##CHURCH OR PARISH## (1***) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None None None
JOIN None None None
AC None None None
HATH None None None
IARC None None None


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites
[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. Maps Familysearch
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.