To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

York Holy Trinity Goodramgate, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to York Holy Trinity Goodramgate, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

York Holy Trinity Goodramgate, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573; Separate registers exist for York St Maurice Monkgate beginning 1650
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for York St Maurice Monkgate beginning 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery City of York
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.[1]

York Trinity in Goodramgate with St John Delpike and St Maurice without Monkbar is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: York St John Delpike, York St John Del Pyke, York St Maurice without Monkbar, York St Maurice in the Suburbs, York St Maurice Monkgate, and York St Maurice. [2]

The church is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust Holy Trinity Goodramgate The church was declared redundant in 1971.

Holy Trinity Goodramgate Medieval Church

Holy Trinity history

GENIUKI page


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

York Holy Trinity Goodramgate with St John Delpike and St Maurice without Monkbar parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
York Holy Trinity Goodramgate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. Maps Familysearch
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk