York County, Nebraska Genealogy
Guide to York County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
York County is located in the southern part of the state. York County was organized in 1870. Sources differ on the origin of the county's name; some state it was named after York in England, while others maintain it was named by early settlers from York County, Pennsylvania. ref>https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016</ref>
York County Courthouse
510 Lincoln Ave.
York, NE 68467
York County Website
County Clerk has marriage records.
County Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Veteran Service Office has military records.
County Historical Society has Obituary Records.
York County, Nebraska Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following are locations in York County, Nebraska:
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
Links to Google Maps for each cemetery can be found at the Kilgore Memorial Library website:
- Arborville Cemetery is located on County road D just about 2-3 miles south of Highway 66.
- Bethel Cemetery is located 2 miles north of Benedict on Highway 81, east on Road 24 3 miles to Road O, 1/8th mile north on Road O, toward Thayer.
- Bethesda Lutheran Cemetery is located 4 1/2 miles west of York on Highway 34; on the south side of highway, west of Road I.
- Bethesda Mennonite Cemetery is located near Henderson 1/2 mile east of Road B on Road 8.
- Blue Valley Cemetery is located 1/2 mile east of Road S, on Road 5. Road S goes south from the I-80 Waco exit.
- Mennonite Cemetery, also known as Buller Cemetery, Siebert-Buller Cemetery is located one mile south of Henderson, east on Road 5 to dead end. Cemetery is in the center of the section.
- Brabham Family Cemetery, also known as Zion Cemetery is located 5 1/2 miles north of Highway 34 on Road B; in the field on east side of road. Not easily accessible.
- Cashler Cemetery, also known as Union Cemetery is located north 1/2 mile from Interstate 80 Waco exit to Road 10, east 5 miles to Road X, south to dead end. Cemetery is adjacent to Interstate 80.
- Cedar Lawn Cemetery is located on the East end of Ella Street in Gresham.
- Council Cemetery is located southwest of the intersection of Road G and Road 11.
- Dewitt Cemetery is located northeast of Waco. Take Hwy 34 east to Road V. Go north to Road 20, then east to County Road 476, then north.
- Dry Creek Cemetery is located east of Waco to HWY 69, then north to Road 21. Northeast of HWY 69 and Road 21.
- Ebenezer Cemetery is located from the Waco, NE Interchange on Interstate #80, two and one half miles north and two miles east on the north side of the road.
- Faith Evangelical Bible Cemetery is located 1 1/4 miles south of Henderson on Road B.
- Gilmore Cemetery is located on Road 6, 1 1/4 miles west of Road S.
- Greenwood Cemetery (McCool Junction) is located on the north side of Road 3, between Road J and Road K. From McCool Junction, go west on Road 4 to Road K, south one mile on Road K and west 1/2 mile on Road 3.
- Greenwood Cemetery (York) is located on the west end of 8th Street in York; from downtown York go west on 6th to Greenwood, north to 8th, and west to the cemetery entrance.
- Holoch (Bussard) Cemetery is located southwest of intersection of Road P and Road M550. Go east from McCool Junction on Road 4 to Road O, north 1 1/2 miles to Road M550, east one mile.
- Lincoln Creek Cemetery is located in Lockridge Township, 3 miles North and 3.5 miles east of the village of Bradshaw, York County, Nebraska. It is located on Road 17 between Roads "H" and "I".
- McCool Junction Cemetery is located 1/2 mile west of Highway 81 on Road 5.
- Palo Cemetery, also known as Mt. Zion Cemetery, is located one mile west of HWY 69 on Road 20.
- Plainfield Cemetery is located 2 1/4 miles west of Bradshaw on Highway 34.
- Pleasant Hill Cemetery, also known as the Brabham Cemetery, is located 2-1/2 miles west on Road 22and 3/4 mile north of Benedict on Road J. Cemetery is on east side of Road J.
- Pleasant Ridge Cemetery is located on Road 3, east of Road N. From McCool Junction, go two miles east on Road 4 to Road N, south one mile to Road 3 and 1/3rd mile east.
- Rosemond Cemetery, also known as Rose Cemetery, is located on Road P, south of Road 18. Best route is go north on Road Q (Thayer Road) from Highway 34 two miles, west on Road 17 one mile, and north on Road P.
- St. John’s Cemetery is located from Interstate 80 Waco exit, go north 1/2 mile; take Road 10 east 2 miles, go north 1/2 mile on Road U.
- St. Joseph’s Cemetery is located at the intersection of Nobes Road (Road 12) and Road N east of York.
- St. Paul’s Lutheran Cemetery is located 4 miles north of Highway 34 on Road N to Road 19.
- St. Peter’s Lutheran Cemetery is located on Highway 69 at northwest corner of Gresham. Cemetery is west of the church.
- United Methodist Cemetery is located west of Lushton on Road 3, south on Road F for 1 mile. Cemetery is on southwest corner of Road 2 & Road F intersection.
- Vernon Cemetery, also known as Pettis Cemetery, is located 3 miles east of Highway 81 on Road 10. Cemetery is on northeast corner of Road 10 and Road O.
- Waco Cemetery is located west on street immediately south of railroad tracks in Waco.
- Zion Lutheran Cemetery is located 1/2 mile west of Thayer (Road Q) on Road 20, on the south side of the road.
Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.
For tips on accessing York County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
State Census Records
- 1854 - 1870 - Nebraska, Compiled Census Index, 1854-1870 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
- 1860 - 1885 - Nebraska State Census Collection 1860-1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nebraska Land and Property
Local histories are available for York County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Nebraska Gazetteer - database for all known places found in 1890 and 1911 Nebraska gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nebraska - shows boundary changes for Nebraska Counties
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- 1861 - 1865 - Nebraska Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1891 - Nebraska Resident Military Roster on June 1, 1891 at Ancestry.com - ($), Roster of Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines of the War of 1812, the Mexico War, and the War of the Rebellion, residing in Nebraska June 1, 1891
- 1893 - Roster of Nebraska Veterans - list of veterans in 1893
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 - World War I Drafts 1917-1918 - index only
- For more nationwide World War I databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.
Nebraska Newspapers Online
- Nebraska Newspapers - contains images of newspapers throughout Nebraska
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nebraska newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs
- Nebraska State Historical Society - catalog of known Nebraska newspapers; lists repositories that have the newspapers
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- 1870 - 1990 — Nebraska Prisoner Records 1870-1990 — index only
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - York - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- 1855 - 1995 — Nebraska Marriages, 1855-1995 at FamilySearch — index only
- 1856 - 1898 — Nebraska Marriages 1856-1898 at Ancestry.com ($), index only
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Kilgore Memorial Library
520 N Nebraska Ave
York, NE 68467
- Kilgore Memorial Library
- Wessels Living History Farm
- Wessels Living History Farm
- Website York County Historical Association
2329 N Nebraska Ave
P. O. Box 81
York, NE 68467
- Paradise Mills Historical Society
Waco, NE 68460
- Greater York Area Genealogical Society
Kilgore Memorial Library
521 Nebraska Ave
York, NE 68467-3095
- Website York County Historical Association
- Access Genealogy
- Genealogy Trails
- Genealogy Inc.
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- http://genealogytrails.com/neb/york/ accessed 09/29/2016
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Wikipedia contributors, "York County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Nebraska, accessed 2 August 2016.