To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

York County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from York County, Maine)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to York County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

York County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting York County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded June 25, 1789
County Seat Alfred
Courthouse
Address York County Courthouse
45 Kennebank Road;
Alfred, ME 04002
Phone: 207.324.1571
York County Website


Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for York, England. The County has Alfred as its seat and the County was created 1636. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[1]

York County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1892 1637 1636 1636 1637 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

  • Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
  • Clerk Court has divorce and court records.
  • 1637 - Register of Probate has death and probate records from 1637.
  • 1636 - Register of Deeds has land records from 1636. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

  • History of York County, Maine. With illustrations and biographical sketches of its prominent men and pioneers (1880) By W. Woodford Clayton.  ebook at Internet Archive

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1789 - Created 25 Jun 1789 from Lincoln County. [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1839 - Part taken off for Aroostook County 16 March 1839. [5]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

MaineNew HampshireYork CountyOxford CountyCumberland CountyRockingham CountyStrafford CountyCarroll CountyParsonsfieldCornishLimingtonNewfieldLimerickActonShapleighWaterboroHollisBuxtonLebanonSanfordAlfredLymanDaytonSacoOld Orchard BeachBiddefordArundelKennebunkportKennebunkWellsOgunquitYorkIsles of Shoals (part of Kittery and Rye)KitteryEliotSouth BerwickNorth BerwickBerwickBrownfieldPorterHiramBaldwinSebagoRaymondFrye IslandStandishGorhamWindhamGrayNorth YarmouthCumberlandFalmouthWestbrookPortlandSouth PortlandScarboroughCape ElizabethFremontBrentwoodExeterNorth HamptonRyeNew CastlePortsmouthGreenlandNewingtonStrathamNewfieldsNewmarketEppingRaymondNottinghamNorthwoodLeeDurhamMadburyDoverRollinsfordSomersworthBarringtonStraffordRochesterFarmingtonMiltonMiddletonNew DurhamBrookfieldWakefieldWolfeboroOssipeeEffinghamFreedomEatonMadison
Modern town borders in York County, Maine.

Towns

Extinct Town:  Isles of Shoals

Communities

  • Berwick
  • Cape Neddick
  • Kennebunk
  • Kennebunkport
  • Kittery
  • Kittery Point
  • Lake Arrowhead
  • North Berwick
  • Sanford
  • South Eliot
  • South Sanford
  • Springvale
  • West Kennebunk
  • York Harbor

Villages

  • Bald Head
  • Cape Porpoise
  • York Cliffs

Neighboring Counties

Maine:  Cumberland | Oxford | New Hampshire:  Carroll | Rockingham | Strafford

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
ME Interment
Billion Graves
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

  • 1827-1884 - The Maine conference Methodist Episcopal Chirch Copy of record of persons baptized, marriages solemnized, and funerals attended by the late Isaac Lord, Jr., [i.e. Church] from 1827 to 1884; also data regarding the Lord and Curtis families [1778-1924]
  • 1784-1831 - Marriages (1784-1831) in Hollis, Lyman, Kennebunkport and adjoining towns of York County, Me.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Peroidicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for York County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

York CountyOxford CountyCumberland CountyCarroll County, New HampshireStrafford County, New HampshireRockingham County, New HampshireME York.jpg
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in York County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in York County, Maine Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Maine Cavalry
- 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry , Companies B and C.

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Geographical[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has several Maine newspapers from 1832 to 2014, covering local news that included residents from York County communities.

Finding More Maine Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as York County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Obituaries - Indexes[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "York County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Maine."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), York County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), York County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].