York All Saints Pavement, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to York All Saints Pavement, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|York All Saints Pavement, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||York|
|Parish registers: 1554|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Rural Deanery||City of York|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.
York All Saints Pavement with St Peter the Little is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: York St Peter the Little and St Peter the Little. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in York All Saints Pavement with, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, and General Baptist. 
York All Saints Pavement (with St Peter the Little) is an Ancient Parish in the City of York
See Medieval Parish Churches of York Wikipedia for context of this parish in the City.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of York All Saints Pavement exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|YORK ALL SAINTS PAVEMENT (1554) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalog film numbers in their collection. All Saints, Pavement - 1554
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
- Maps Familysearch
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 October 2014.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 13 October 2014.
- 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.