To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Yellow Medicine County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 7, 1871
County Seat Granite Falls
Courthouse
Address Yellow Medicine County Courthouse
415 9th Avenue
Granite Falls, MN 56241-1367
Phone: 56241-1367
Yellow Medicine County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for a plant whose yellow root the native Dakota people used for medicinal purposes. The County is located in the west central area of the state. [1]

Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1872 1872 1872 1872 1861 1874 1836
Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse
[edit | edit source]



Clerk District Court has birth, marriage and naturalization
records from 1872, death, divorce, probate and court
records. County Recorder has land records. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1871--Yellow Medicine County was created 7 November 1871 from Redwood County.  County seat: Granite Falls[3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MNGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran[edit | edit source]

St. Lucas Lutheran Church, Cottonwood

  • Records of St. Lucas Lutheran Church, Cottonwood, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Trinity Lutheran Church, Porter

  • Records of the Trinity Lutheran Church, Porter, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Yellow Medicine Lutheran Church, Hanley Falls

  • Records of Yellow Medicine Lutheran Church, Hanley Falls, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Yellow Medicine – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Lac qui Parle CountyRenville CountyRedwood CountyLyon CountyLincoln CountyDeuel CountyChippewa CountyMN YELLOW MEDICINE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]

The following Civil War battle was fought in Yellow Medicine County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Minnesota.
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Yellow Medicine County Historical Society and Museum
PO Box 145
98 Minnesota 67
Granite Falls, MN 56241
Telephone: 320-564-4479
E-mail: ymchs@mvtvwireless.com
Email:ymchsgenealogy@mvtvwireless.com
Website

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow_Medicine_County,_Minnesota accessed 15 Nov 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota page 370, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.