Yell County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Yell County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Yell County

Guide to Yell County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Danville
Organized: December 5, 1840
Parent County(s): Pope and Scott[1]
Neighboring Counties
Conway  • Garland  • Logan  • Montgomery  • Perry  • Pope  • Scott
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasYellNorthernDistrictCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-yell.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Governor Archibald Yell. The County Seat is Augusta and was founded December 5, 1840. It is located in the west-central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Yell County Courthouse
P.O. Box 219;
Danville, AR 72833-0219
Phone: 501.495.2630
Yell County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, land, and court records from 1865[3]

Yell County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1865 1914* 1865 1865 1865 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1860s Some records destroyed during the Civil War. Records available are: Probate records from May 7, 1858 to February 10, 1862; marriage records from July 23, 1841 to March 24, 1849; and deed records from March 2, 1841 to December 4, 1848.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1840--Yell County was created 5 December 1840 from Pope and Scott Counties.
  • County seat: Danville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Dutch Creek
  • Ferguson (Belleville)
  • Galla Rock
  • Gilkey
  • Gravelly Hill
  • Herring
  • Ions Creek
  • Lamar (Plainview)
  • Magazine
  • Mason
  • Mountain
  • Prairie
  • Richland
  • Riley (Havana)
  • Rover
  • Sulphur Springs
  • Ward (Ola)
  • Waveland


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Arkansas County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Yell History and Culture. [7]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of yell, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 3,341
1860 6,333 89.6%
1870 8,048 27.1%
1880 13,852 72.1%
1890 18,015 30.1%
1900 22,750 26.3%
1910 26,323 15.7%
1920 25,655 −2.5%
1930 21,313 −16.9%
1940 20,970 −1.6%
1950 14,057 −33.0%
1960 11,940 −15.1%
1970 14,208 19.0%
1980 17,026 19.8%
1990 17,759 4.3%
2000 21,139 19.0%
2010 22,185 4.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1865-1943 Yell County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 : Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Accounts 1876-1905; Administration and guardian dockets 1866-1890; Administration bonds and letters 1865-1913; Dockets 1866-1873; Guardian bonds 1876-1913; Probate records 1858-1888; Wills 1872-1943.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Yell County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Banks, Wayne. History of Yell County, Arkansas. Van Buren, Arkansas : Press-Argus, 1959.
  • Mount Nebo : near Dardanelle in Yell County. Salt Lake City : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2013.

Maps and Gazetteers

Pope CountyLogan CountyConway CountyPerry CountyScott CountyMontgomery CountyGarland County250PX
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Yell County Military

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Yell County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[8], Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company K
- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dawson's) (Confederate)
- 31st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 38th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[9], Companies A, C, D, E, F, H, and S

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yell County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[10] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

River Valley Genealogy Society Researchers interested in CONWAY, FAULKNER, PERRY, POPE, YELL AND VAN BUREN COUNTIES.
Farm Bureau Building
201 E. Shady Lane
Morrilton, Arkansas

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Yell County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/yell/
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yell County, Arkansas. Page 71 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Yell County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yell_County,_Arkansas, accessed 3 October 2018.
  7. Mildred Diane Gleason, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=816&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 18, 2016), “Yell County.”
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  10. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  12. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.