Yardley Wood, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Yardly Wood, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Yardley Wood, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Kings Norton; Solihull|
|Registration District||Kings Norton; Solihull|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Yardley Wood Christ church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Worcestershire, created in 1849 from Yardley, Worcestershire Ancient Parish and Kings Norton, Worcestershire Ecclesiastical Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Parishes: Yardley, A History of the County of Worcester volume 3, (1913). Date accessed and adapted: 19 October 2013.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.