Yalobusha County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Yalobusha County

Guide to Yalobusha County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Coffeeville and Water Valley
Organized: 23 December 1833
Parent County(s): Choctaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Grenada  • Lafayette  • Panola  • Tallahatchie
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiYalobusha1Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Yalobusha County.png
Adoption
Yalobusha County Courthouse District 2

County Information

Description

This county was named with a Native American word meaning "tadpole place". The County has two county seats: Coffeeville and Water Valley. Yalobusha County is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Yalobusha County Courthouse District 1
14400 Main Street
P.O. Box 260
Coffeeville, MS 38922
Phone: 662-675-2716
Fax: 662-675-8004

Yalobusha County Courthouse District 2
201 Blackmur Drive
P.O. Box 664
Water Valley, MS 38965-0664
Phone: 662-473-2091
Fax: 662-473-3622

Yalobusha County Website

Clerk Chancery Court in Water Valley has divorce, probate, court and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court in Coffeyville has marriage records.[3]

Yalobusha County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1847 1834 1834 1840

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1833 Yalobusha County was created 23 December 1833 from the Choctaw Cession.
  • County seat: Coffeeville and Water Valley[4]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Yalobusha County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Yalobusha County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Yalobusha County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

USGenWeb Census Project

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Yalobusha County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Panola CountyLafayette CountyCalhoun CountyGrenada CountyTallahatchie CountyMS YALOBUSHA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Yalobusha County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Yalobusha County:

- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Sharpshooters
Company C - Capt. Leigh’s Independent Company
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company D - Tillatoba Grays
- 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry (became the 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry)
Company - Dixie Boys
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry)
Company D - Dixie Boys
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans (Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s)
Company F - Reason’s Company
Company I - Eskridge’s Company
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Richmond’s Company
Company F - Kennedy’s Company
Company K - Barksdale’s Rangers
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company C - Duff Guards
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's))
Company C - Duff Guards

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Yalobusha County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Yalobusha County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Yalobusha County Historical Society, Inc.
    P.O. Box 258
    Coffeeville, MS 38922-0258

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Yalobusha, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yalobusha_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.