To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Yadkin County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Yadkin County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Yadkin County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Yadkin County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1850
County Seat Yadkinville
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaYadkinCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Yadkin Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

 

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Yadkin County is located in the Northwestern portion of North Carolina and was named for the Yadkin River[1].

Yadkin County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1850 1913 1845 1850 1850 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Yadkin County North Carolina
101 State Street
Yadkinville, NC 27055
Phone: 336-679-4225

Register Deeds has birth and death from 1913
marriage and land records from 1850
Clerk Superopr Court has divorce and court records
probate records from 1850[3]

Register of Deeds
PO Box 211
Yadkinville, NC, 27020
Phone: 336-679-4225
Fax: 336-679-3239
Website

Clerk Superior Court
PO Box 95
Yadkinville, NC 27055
Phone: (336) 679-3600

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1850--Yadkin County was created from Surry County.  County seat: Yadkinville [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Yadkin County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]
  • Deep Creek. Primitive Baptist minutes (1779-1971) online.

County Records[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Ncyadkin.png

Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Yadkin County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Yadkin County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company E
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company A
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company F
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company H
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries [edit | edit source]

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Yadkin
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yadkin County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yadkin County, North Carolina. Page 514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.